New to the forum

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
Hi everyone, I'm new to table tennis and this forum so I have a few questions:

How does the star system works? Who decides if it's a 2 or 3 star ball? Don't answer best 3 star and medium 2 star, I want something precise

What is the maximum number of stars for a blade?

What about the ARTENGO brand?

I've seen 'antispin' rubbers, why would someone use them? like you can't you just don't do the effect?

What should I practise at the beggining?

The blade haves to be black and red?

Which brands are the best ones?

How many different ways are there to hold the blade? I've seen two kinds of penhold, shakehand... I guess there are more

Thanks a lot! :D

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
What is the maximum number of stars for a blade?

Blades are not star rated. Only balls.

The star system used to mean much more than it does now. With Celluloid balls the 3 star balls were all quite good.

2 star and training balls were not quite as good but still fairly decent.

And even 1 star balls were fairly acceptable but not as good as 2 star balls.

These days, with the new 40+ Poly balls, only some kinds of 3 star balls are any good. Some are terrible. Some training balls are okay. Some are terrible.

Look for one of the threads about the new 40+ Poly balls. The two kinds that most people seem to feel are good are the Nittaku Premium 3 stars from Japan and the DHS D40+ ABS balls. The seamless 3 star balls seem pretty decent too. But not as good as the Nittaku Premium or DHS D40+.

There are a few guys on here like Baal and NextLevel who have done a lot of work researching which balls are good. Hopefully they can steer you in the right direction on what balls are good and also a good value.

There is a rule that one rubber has to be black and the other has to be red. Yes. I think I will let someone else explain why.