Difference between stiffness amd hardness

Hi all, I am still kind of new to TT blades and can someone please tell me the difference between stiffness and hardness of a blade? For example a hurricane 301 blade has a very low stiffness but a medium hardness?! I want to have hard rubber on a soft blade but does this mean I need a soft AND flexible blade? Help plz

says ok, I will go back and make sure you have access. Be...
Nov 2010
Read 8 reviews
Hard blades vibrate quite a bit at quite high frequencies when the ball strikes. Soft blades don't. Flexy blades vibrate a lot at low frequencies and stiff blades don't. Blades vibrate at more than one frequency at the same time. (Same reason a guitar and violin sound different even when they play the same note). So soft blades can still be stiff (Butterfly Iolite is a classic example). Some composite materials like arylate have a particular property of absorbing high frequency vibration (and this becomes more noticeable if the arylate is closer to the surface) but in a thin large blade head arylate will still allow flex.

It amounts to the same thing Iangel wrote but this way ofbthinking about it explains why the hard outer ply feels the way it does. The figh frequency vibrations will propagate more through the outer ply I suspect.

Last edited:
Reactions: Atas Newton
If you build a dynamic graph of stiffness and/or hardness change of a blades with different composition, as a function of speed/angle/hit strenght/vector, you may find a lot of differences.
But besides that stiffness and hardness are just what they are - basic characteristics of a blade.