Differences in how to spin the ball: Chinese and European rubbers

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2016
I'm not an equipment expert at all. I feel like I'm asking an extremely common sense question,

but for softer rubbers, you generate spin mainly by using the sponge? (as opposed to closing your racket more to spin the top of the ball for tacky rubbers)

I heard this while going through PingSkills (recommending resources for beginners) https://youtu.be/30zKrRSY0PE?t=140
and hearing that literally blew my mind. It's starting to make some sense to me now. I knew that was a factor, but I didn't think it was supposed to be the main factor. I've been playing my Tenergy like a Chinese rubber the whole time.

But I want to confirm with the equipment experts here. Do you guys feel that is true? Or am I completely wrong?

As a follow-up, if that is true, doesn't that imply that in order to make a spinny shot with soft rubbers like Tenergy, you HAVE to make the ball go at least a certain speed (whatever speed the sponge launches the ball to)? You'd have to make the ball go pretty fast in order to put lots of spin on it.

I think I understand how blocking with soft rubbers would work in theory now, but I'd still like your thoughts on how blocking works with soft sponge. Do you still try to get the ball into the sponge when blocking?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2017
Read 2 reviews
Well there is spin generated by the sponge and then by the topsheet. For many people it's easier to generate spin with softer rubbers because you can use the sponge even on low impact shots like slow opening loops. For harder sponges you either have to swing faster or use more of the topsheet which is a bit harder to do imho.