How to make the best of what I have available?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2018
After a very long break from table tennis (over 20 years), I've got back into playing it. However, the only place I've found to play is a government training center focused in developing young players, and the only option for us not so young players (I'm turning 40 this year) is a TT "workshop" for beginners 3 times a week (1.5 - 2 hrs per session).

Usually a session goes like this:
Quick of the table warm up
The coach explains the goals for the day (fh topspin, short serve, etc) and explains the drills we'll be doing during the session (2-3 drills); he gives us some pointers, things to avoid, etc.
Then we work in teams of 2 or 3 people in the drills he showed us.
Now, I'm talking 1 coach for 12 tables with 2 to 3 people each; he's usually feeding multi ball to the absolute beginners, so he rarely goes to the tables to watch you perform the drills and fix your technique.
Last 30 minutes up-down games.

He's told me that their goal for us adults is to play and have fun. But I want to train hard and become the best I can within my abilities and age.

I have access to a table at the gym and it's usually empty, but I haven't been able to find someone as motivated as me to train together.
I've been thinking about buying a robot or maybe a return board, but I don't really know how useful that'll be.

How would you go on to make the best out of the situation and improve your level?
Yes, I do love the fun that's the sport but I'd love to compete as well (we do get invited to local tournaments; you can easily guess that we're not even close in level to the juniors they train and mostly serve as cannon fodder)

Sent from my SM-G610M using Tapatalk

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2018
Are you physically fit to train harder? Aside from doing serious training for gameplay and strokes, you should also improve your physical capabilities.