I can't control my serves' spin type

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2016
Whew got to say this is a new one. Never heard of this problem before. I mean backspin & topspin are completely opposite spin types.

I suggest you record yourself here and post your training. Tell us what serve you're going for. That'll be the starting point.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2017
All players have incomplete skills including Ma Long.

I’m sure Ma Long knows exactly what spin he’s putting on his serves. Hell, even I know that, and trust me, if I was a professional I would not have earned much money.

To answer the original question, if you brush the top of the ball, it’s top spin, if you brush the bottom, it’s back spin, and if you brush the sides of the ball it’s side spin.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2010
I think video of you trying to put those spins will help in giving advise .. in corkscrew serves the change is very subtle if you are trying to make it difficult to read so its not too uncommon to not know the exact spin .. however I would say it would not be as drastic as under spin to topspin , it will mostly be the degree of spin and underspin / side , side/top kind of situation ... remembering all of them have side spin anyways ... the only remedy is to practice while ensuring you are hitting something at the other end that tells you what spin it is ..

Last edited:

Brs

This user has no status.

Brs

This user has no status.
Oct 2015
This is the funniest OP I've ever seen on a TT forum. It's not that easy to get heavy topspin on a pendulum serve on purpose, to do it by accident while trying to serve backspin takes genius.