Penhold index finger placement

This user has no status.
So I'm fairly new to table tennis; I've only been playing for a couple months now, playing Chinese penhold. I've gotten used to using the traditional penhold backhand, and I'm learning to use the reverse penhold backhand. My grip is fairly similar to Ma Lin's, but with the thumb a bit higher to support my forehand, as I'm a forehand dominant player.
Photo on 3-23-18 at 7.04 PM #2.jpgPhoto on 3-23-18 at 7.05 PM #2.jpgPhoto on 3-23-18 at 7.04 PM.jpgPhoto on 3-23-18 at 7.05 PM.jpg
I then realized that since my footwork is still developing, I should use my backhand more. The problem is, the traditional backhand feels too passive. I've seen pro players like Xu Xin, Wang Hao, and Xue Fei have their index finger wrapped around the handle like this: Photo on 3-23-18 at 7.17 PM.jpg
I tried shadow practice with this grip, and it feels more comfortable. should I switch?

Reactions: OldschoolPenholder
says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
Jan 2018
The gap between the FH rubber and handle is too close. For TBH, a gap of roughly 1-1.25 inches is left.

Also get some sandpaper and sand down the blade wings where the thumb and index finger rest on, and if necessary, round out the wedge of the handle where the tip of the index finger touches.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2016
View attachment 15873View attachment 15874View attachment 15875
These penholders here have their index finger on the handle, and their backhands are all incredible.

Maybe I was wrong about myself :p It could be 50-50, but there's definitely overlap between the handle and blade.

Here's a close up of my grip

IMG_0260.jpg

Here's an alternate of Xu Xin,

cache.php.jpg

I think both ways will probably work, but I'll have to test out the effects of forehand and backhand later today

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2016