Backhand and forehand rubber recommendations for 1.5 year beginner

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2018
Hi everybody,

As the title states I am a beginner and have been playing for a little over a year and a half. I primarily play at work for about 1 hour (during breaks, lunches, and after work) and occasionally go to my local ping pong house with friends to play longer sessions.

One of my buddies sold me his semi old Ma Lin offensive paddle and it had mark V rubbers on both sides and honestly they have been great but the rubbers on the edges have widdled away and I'm sure the rubber isn't as good as it was when it was brand new so I am looking to change out the rubbers. I am not sure of the thickness or the pip length either.

My play style is offensive for the most part and I tend to use my BH for most of my rallies and end with a FH if i get an opportunity or if it is out of reach for my BH. I start all my serves with a BH aswell.

I would love your guy's feedback on what would be a good starting BH and FH rubber to use so I may start to tailor more of my playstyle towards each side of the paddle instead of just using both sides for everything. I would like to keep each rubber under $50 as that is my budget.

Please let me know if there are any other details you would like to know about my playstyle that i didn't include (mainly cause I don't know what info is useful to yall) and I will provide it asap.

Thanks guys!

Reactions: BeGo
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2018
Your old Mark V was probably MAX because Yasaka Malin Extra Offensive + 2xMark V (Max) is a popular $99.95 combo.

If you want to move up in speed, Xiom Vega Intro is pretty controllable although the upgrade in speed is more than the upgrade in spin which can make it a little harder to lift the ball off the net if you come from Mark V. I'm not that much of a fan of this rubber though. It just feels weird.