Balsa blade

MDP

This user has no status.

MDP

This user has no status.
Oct 2015
Read 1 reviews
I don't know any commercial models as the ones I tried felt really 'balsa-ish'. But your description fits the blades I make very good. I started making light blades to find a solution for a friend who also has tennis elbow. It really helps when the blade is only 60-70g. I started playing with them myself because they play very similar to blades I was used to (persson powerplay, osp virtuoso, andro temper tech off-) but they weigh 20g less :).

Balsa-blades can be tricky to find the right one. Good luck with your search!

Reactions: Nate4s
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2018
If you've seen some of MDP's work, you know you'd be getting a quality, handmade product from someone who is specifically trying to build blades for the exact thing you're looking for: lightweight and doesn't play like a "stereotypical" balsa blade. I don't know his costs off the top of my head, but all of the blades he's sold on these forums have been very affordable, in my opinion.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2017
Try to find a light blade with a kiri core instead of balsa. For example Cornilleau Aero blades. Or Mr. Vodák from the Czech Republic (http://www.vodak-dreva.cz) produces high quality all-wood blades with kiri center ply with weight between 70-80g. He can also make blades according to the customer's requirements.
Or blades with kiri core and carbon - BTY Photino Light, Yinhe Bogen (both discontinued)

I was also looking for a light blade (70-80g) and I tried several blades with balsa-carbon composition - Yinhe T11 +, TSP 6.5, Tibhar Balsa off 60. They all had a balsa feeling with a higher catapult. I do not like this. The only blade, that I really liked and did not have a big catapult and has great control, was the Sanwei Feather Carbon. My piece weighs 67g and definitely stay with me :)