What Equipment Should I Get As A Beginner?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2018
Hi, I recently started playing table tennis around 2 months ago and really enjoy it. I play 3/4 times a week, and think that it would be beneficial for me to get my own bat so that I can get used to a rubber, rather than using whatever is available where I play. I have heard that buying certain equipment can cause you to not develop your stroke properly, so I am not really sure what to go for. I am an offensive player and I would like a rubber/setup that allows me to put a lot of spin on the ball. Any suggestions/pointers

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2018
Hello

The main idea is just to not take something too fast

Like for a blade, one noted All or All+ like (All is for all around, it is a notation about the speed)
- Stiga all around classic (i played this one for 2 years)
- Donic Appelgren Allplay

About the rubbers, i think you have 2 things to know : First now a lot of rubbers are 'tensor' and it might be better to take theses new ones instead of all the old one (that are still very recommended as people were used to begin with it, in my opinion). Also one important factors is the hardness. Usually the harder it is, the faster it is. I think around 38/40° hardness is good to begin with

So why not try
- On the FH : Donic Acuda S3 in 1.8mm (a tensor not too fast)
- On the BH : Tibhar Vari spin in 1.8mm (it is not a tensor and slower but like that you will be able to test it and find out if you prefer to have something slower on your BH or maybe even on your FH). Here you're sure to have good control and i played it on both BH and FH and at the time i didn't feel a lack of power