Advice for training blade- Xiom Musa Asia vs. Yasaka Sweden Extra?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2018
Hi all, this is my first time posting on this forum, but I’ve been reading for a while. I’m a relatively new player, but I’m athletic with good hand eye coordination. playing with a Bty Hadraw VK, T05 on fh, T05fx on the bh. When I keep good form, my hard loops are hard for more intermediate players to return, as they kick hard off the table, and carry good sidespin in addition to the topspin. However, I think the T05/Hadraw vk is a little to quick for my form just yet. I send a fair number of fh topspin shots long. They’re either really good, nice shots, or they miss badly. There doesn’t seem to be much middle ground. It’s frustrating. I’m thinking about getting a slower set up to work on my form with, based on various posts around the forum. Those two blades were mentioned. I’ve got a set of mark V rubbers ready to go, based upon recommendations from better players at my club. I figure I can work on my form with the mark V’s, then experiment with some speed glue with them after I’ve moved back to my main set up— just for fun. Anyway, it seems like a more controlled blade with a more forgiving rubber would allow me to work on my form more easily, Thoughts? Other blades I should consider? I’d like to keep the cost under $75. The less the better. Thanks in advance guys!

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2016
First things first, you can try the Mark Vs you've bought on the VK, and see how that goes.
Otherwise yes, most 5-ply all+/off- blades on the market would do nicely and Sweden Extra is a popular choice (with good reason). Donic Appelgren has a very good feeling too, a tad softer than the Extra if I recall correctly and I like it better than Stiga Allround Classic (personal preference, really) which is the other obvious go to blade in your situation.

Also, welcome to the forum!

Last edited: