Switching to old generation rubbers

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2017
Read 3 reviews
Just wondering if it's only me who finds 5Q and Acuda Blue P2 far more reliable than the Evolution series, new Aurus Prime and Select and Rasanters. It's amazing the consistency old-generation rubbers can produce over today's rubbers. I started playing TT a lot later than most players, so my observations are limited in their scope. In the newer rubbers, I find Mantra M the most consistent.
I find it far easier to predict the ball trajectory with 5Q, P2 in comparison to say EL-S or R47. I feel the newer rubbers aren't as consistent as the old ones though they can produce awesome shots loaded with spin and speed.
Anybody who feels the same way?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2014
Read 3 reviews
Just wondering if it's only me who finds 5Q and Acuda Blue P2 far more reliable than the Evolution series, new Aurus Prime and Select and Rasanters.

In the race to compete with tenergy on one side and offer a broad variety of rubbers to replace individual speed-glueing on the other, in my opinion too many rubbers have been produced. Players were hungry, and kept hungry for minor adjustments.

So these rubber generations aren´t worlds apart, and you might well find your favourite rubber among an older generation. I wouldn´t say the older ones are more consistent or reliable, but if you like them better, no reason to try something else.

Just wondering if it's only me who finds 5Q and Acuda Blue P2 far more reliable than the Evolution series, new Aurus Prime and Select and Rasanters. It's amazing the consistency old-generation rubbers can produce over today's rubbers. I started playing TT a lot later than most players, so my observations are limited in their scope. In the newer rubbers, I find Mantra M the most consistent.