Wierd vibrations in new racket

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2019
Hello, I recently started playing again after a five year break. I used to play with a Timo Boll ZLF blade and when I started to play again this autumn I bought a pair of Xiom Omega VII rubbers for it. Last week I got the idea to try out an all wood blade that is a bit slower so I bought an Andro Temper Tech off- blade paired with Hurricane 8 on forehand (was curious to try out chinese rubber) and Rasanter R47 on backhand. I initially glued the rubbers with traditional speed glue and was quite impressed. Felt like I had good control whilst still having high speed and I felt some feedback from the blade in my hand. However, my rasanter refused to stay on the blade for more than 30 min before I had to reglue it. On my second practise at my club i borrowed some Andro TURBO FIX water-based glue and reglued my rasanter with. After that the blade vibrates like a washing machine on some backhand shots and feels nice with "the right" amount of feedback in other shots. It feels like it mainly vibrates like crazy when I hit the ball in the middle of the racket.

This is very disturbing since it feels like I dont have any controll in either my backhand loobs, pushes or blocks when it vibrates like this.

Any idea to why I feel this huge difference when using different kinds of glue? I dont feel the same way when hitting with the hurricane (stille glued using speed glue). The rasanter is 2.3mm sponge thickness.

EDIT:
Another question, when the hurricane was brand new it was super-tacky. I could just place the ball on top of it and turn the racket over and the ball would remain on the rubber. Like one hour into the first practise with it the tackyness was gone. Even when applying force to the ball it would only stay on the rubber for a fraction of a second. Anyone know the reason for this and how I can get the tackyness back?

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.