Penhold Rubber Selection Advice

Jek

This user has no status.

Jek

This user has no status.
Mar 2019
Hi, I am new to the forum. I am a beginner/intermediate level penhold player. My blade is a CS Butterfly Firehand. I currently have H3 on my forehand and Skyline 3 TG on my rpb backhand. My rpb is not great yet, but I am trying to find a good rubber to learn the rpb stroke better.

I recently purchased a new blade and got the Yasaka Ma Lin Extra. Any rubber recommendations for the forehand and backhand and thickness? I am thinking of getting the Mark V for the forehand side.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
This user has no status.
Hi Jek! I'm also a beginner player, but getting coaching for about a year already. I'm playing a both wings offensive game.

I play penhold with MEO blade since last September, with Donic Bluefire M1 on reverse side. I'm happy with this setup on RPB. I can make all kinds of strokes with this setup on RPB: both thin and thick contact, both looping and hitting through the ball.

I have also played a few months with M1 on forehand but switched back recently to Hurricane 3 because I can control Hurricane 3 better on forehand.

Hope this helps :)

This user has no status.
I love Rakza 7 soft for RPB. I sometimes think about moving to the harder Rakza 7 (bit crisper and faster was what I was thinking), but do like the feeling of security I get with the soft. I love Chinese style tacky rubbers on the forehand for the spin and control on the forehand (where it's easier to create speed with my arm) but need a softer bouncier rubber on the backhand to execute the shots I want.

This user has no status.