Help on Beginner Penholder

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2019
Hi, im new to the fórum, most of the people i know know me by the nickname of Osky, i am 17 and just started playing table tennis starting this year, i really love the penhold style with rpb, i am using right now a huieson blade with a nittaku hammond pro as forehand and andro roxon 450 as backhand, it was gifted by a friend from high school who also plays penhold and showed it to me, i am trying to learn rpb and i want to make my first real racket, i was checking on tt11, saw dhs wind 3020, want know if its a good blade to keep on learning and which rubbers should i buy, id like to spend less than $35-$40 sorry for bad english i am from mexico

Okay lots to unpack here. 35-40 is tough but is possible. My first racket was about the same. You're definitely looking at Chinese equipment. Rubbers I'd say are fairly easy: you can't go wrong price or quality with hurricane 3 fh and something soft, Chinese made but European styled for bh (I learned Rpb on 40 degree hardness focus 3 snipe and I love that. The softer Palio ak47 I hear is good too). As for blade look for a yinhe, friendship or Palio blade 5 ply all wood, All+ to off-. If you order from AliExpress you might be able to dip under 40$. That's about as cheap as I can think! Unfortunately you will still need glue (maybe borrow a bit from a friend, who can show you how it's done), and with cheap Chinese blades, I highly recommend sealing the blade with polyurethane. There is a thread somewhere about this. If you don't there is a very high chance you will strip the top ply when you change rubbers. I've seen it many many times.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2018