• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    1. Top | #1
      anjoooo is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Australia

      Equipment:
      Blade Andro Temper Tech
      Forehand Rubber Andro Rasanter R47
      Backhand Rubber Andro Rasanter R47

      Join Date
      Apr 2016
      Posts
      57
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 26 Times in 19 Posts

      Is this service situation a let?

      From what I understand, once you throw the ball up to serve you must then hit the ball otherwise the point goes to your opponent. You aren't allowed to catch the ball if you feel your throw was bad and then throw it again.

      However, what if you notice that the ball is cracked while the ball is in the air after you throw the ball?

      Would you be allowed to catch the ball and show the umpire without losing a point?

    2. Top | #2
      Lula is online now
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Sweden


      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      960
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 777 Times in 426 Posts
      I think so. But not sure.

    3. Top | #3
      Brs is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Christmas Island


      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      227
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 239 Times in 115 Posts
      If the ball is broken at any time during a point it's a let. I learned this at a tournament when I smashed the ball for a winner and my opponent took a let bc the ball broke on my smash. That was lame, but he was correct about the rule. So in your scenario you could serve the ball and then call let bc it is broken, no matter what happens in the point.

    4. Top | #4
      igorponger is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Former Soviet Union


      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      180
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 58 Times in 41 Posts
      You cant know untill you give the ball a hit.

    5. Top | #5
      Tinykin is online now
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,042
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 842 Times in 408 Posts
      Once the ball is thrown, the rally is now in play. If you catch the ball without playing a stroke, you will have to convince the umpire that there was some extenuating circumstance why you caught the ball, and that he should declare a let.
      If you can prove that the ball was clearly broken, yes, the umpire will most likely call a let.
      My table tennis club in Bristol, England
      http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

    6. Top | #6
      Archyan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Sweden

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05

      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      77
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 23 Times in 15 Posts
      Exactly what Tinykin said; if you can give a good reason to why you catched the ball during play, the umpire can call let.

    7. Top | #7
      tt chats is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Hong Kong
      tt chats's Avatar

      Join Date
      May 2019
      Posts
      22
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 4 Times in 3 Posts
      It depends on the umpire. Better not to take this kind of risk.
      Share all the fun, skills, secrets and anecdotes of TT!

      TableTennisCoach.com.hk/en/

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP