• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    1. Top | #1
      anjoooo is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Australia

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber Andro Rasanter R47
      Backhand Rubber Stiga Airoc Astro M

      Join Date
      Apr 2016
      Posts
      102
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 36 Times in 26 Posts

      Is this service situation a let?

      From what I understand, once you throw the ball up to serve you must then hit the ball otherwise the point goes to your opponent. You aren't allowed to catch the ball if you feel your throw was bad and then throw it again.

      However, what if you notice that the ball is cracked while the ball is in the air after you throw the ball?

      Would you be allowed to catch the ball and show the umpire without losing a point?

    2. Top | #2
      Lula is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: Sweden


      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      1,304
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 1,108 Times in 602 Posts
      I think so. But not sure.

    3. Top | #3
      Brs is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Christmas Island


      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      510
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 536 Times in 258 Posts
      If the ball is broken at any time during a point it's a let. I learned this at a tournament when I smashed the ball for a winner and my opponent took a let bc the ball broke on my smash. That was lame, but he was correct about the rule. So in your scenario you could serve the ball and then call let bc it is broken, no matter what happens in the point.

    4. Top | #4
      igorponger is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Former Soviet Union


      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      338
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 103 Times in 73 Posts
      You cant know untill you give the ball a hit.

    5. Top | #5
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Imperial and Speed 90
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Dignics 80 red or T05H
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Dignics 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,191
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 973 Times in 474 Posts
      Once the ball is thrown, the rally is now in play. If you catch the ball without playing a stroke, you will have to convince the umpire that there was some extenuating circumstance why you caught the ball, and that he should declare a let.
      If you can prove that the ball was clearly broken, yes, the umpire will most likely call a let.
      My table tennis club in Bristol, England
      http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

    6. Top | #6
      Archyan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Sweden

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber DNA
      Backhand Rubber DNA

      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      152
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 39 Posts
      Exactly what Tinykin said; if you can give a good reason to why you catched the ball during play, the umpire can call let.

    7. Top | #7
      tt chats is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Hong Kong
      tt chats's Avatar

      Join Date
      May 2019
      Posts
      38
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
      It depends on the umpire. Better not to take this kind of risk.
      Share all the fun, skills, secrets and anecdotes of TT!

      TableTennisCoach.com.hk/en/

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP