Back to Forum
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 35 of 35
  1. bricec is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 85 148
    B
    bricec is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 148 85
    #21
    Quote Originally Posted by ttopy
    Ok, I watched the whole match, and this is what I found: TL,DR version: Blue player (David Serdaroglu) was doing hidden serves so illegal they were being called (including by the ref off screen on the final point). He lost 8 points total in the match. Went ballistic more than once. Red carded after his final tantrum.

    ...

    Cheers and to anyone that read this all, I hope I didn't find it boring :-)
    Thank you for a fun recollection of the events :-)

    The Following User Likes bricec's Post:

    ttopy


  2. BRAMLEY is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 0 2
    B
    BRAMLEY is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 2 0

    User Info Menu


    May 2019
    Great Britain
    2
    0
    72
    Read 0 Reviews
    #22
    I think the key here is that is always the players responsibility to ensure that the Umpires can be satisfied that the service requirements are met.
    The Umpire and the Assistant Umpire did make decisions during this match, after initial warnings to both players concerning this aspect.
    I believe that the Referee intervened only when behaviour became unacceptable and issued a red card accordingly to the player in blue.
    It is important to remember that neither the Umpire or Assistant Umpire can issue a red card and end a match.

  3. millle398 is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 35 27
    M
    millle398 is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 27 35
    #23
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtpYMVt5X78

    I actually watched the entire game and thought i'd make a compilation of the whole beef in this game, seems to me like David Serdaroglu was aware of that his service was fault (according to the umpires) but still he tried to pull them at critical moments such as 9-8 in the 2nd game

    The Following User Likes millle398's Post:

    bricec


  4. Simas is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 485 1,042
    Simas's Avatar
    Simas is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,042 485
    #24
    the guy went berserk

    The Following User Likes Simas's Post:

    bricec


  5. pingpongcho is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 4 10
    P
    pingpongcho is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 10 4

    User Info Menu


    Feb 2019
    England
    10
    4
    92
    Read 0 Reviews
    #25
    So in the end the player got disqualified? and the other player won?

  6. Simas is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 485 1,042
    Simas's Avatar
    Simas is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,042 485
    #26
    Quote Originally Posted by pingpongcho
    So in the end the player got disqualified? and the other player won?
    yes, he did. it seems the last serve was recalled from good to illegal and the point was given to the opponent. and then he got a red card for going crazy and the opponent got another point...

  7. Kaivalya is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 0 1
    K
    Kaivalya is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 1 0
    #27
    Can someone please explain why is the no look serve illegal, given there is no part of the serve-er blocking the view of the ball for the reciever

  8. Konrad Bak is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 212 1,002
    K
    Konrad Bak is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,002 212

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2016
    Poland
    1,002
    212
    1534
    Read 2 Reviews
    #28
    "Unfortunately this ended with a disqualification of David Serdaroglu. After his service was cancelled for the alleged 11:9 in the decisive fifth set due to a service error, he was shown the red card because of referee criticism. "

    of course it makes Austrian Bundesliga bullshit.
    Last edited by Konrad Bak; 09-19-2020 at 08:00 AM.

  9. JediJesseS is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 70 53
    J
    JediJesseS is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 53 70

    User Info Menu


    Mar 2016
    United States
    53
    70
    284
    Read 0 Reviews
    #29
    The problem isn't with the no-look head movement, his arm is not being removed after the toss and is obstructing view of the ball. Technically, the arm should be removed immediately following the toss. But there could be something I'm missing in the German! Maybe the head fake makes it seem like he isn't going to play out the point?

    2.6.4 From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.

    2.6.5 As soon as the ball has been projected, the server’s free arm and hand shall be removed from the space between the ball and the net. The space between the ball and the net is defined by the ball, the net and its indefinite upward extension.
    Last edited by JediJesseS; 09-19-2020 at 04:41 PM.

  10. MOG is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 191 578
    M
    MOG is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 578 191

    User Info Menu

    #30
    The serve was shielded, I wish more umpires called these serves!

    The game and the world would be a better place!!

  11. Konrad Bak is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 212 1,002
    K
    Konrad Bak is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,002 212

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2016
    Poland
    1,002
    212
    1534
    Read 2 Reviews
    #31
    Quote Originally Posted by MOG
    The serve was shielded, I wish more umpires called these serves!

    The game and the world would be a better place!!
    Everything was great in this last serve...i think his opponent thought that ball will be medium short downspin and it was different.
    I find this Turkish guys serves are not the best.
    The opponent says (slovakian) I dont see nothing but he probably won more than 50% of his no hidden serves. The hidden serves was called so this is funny.
    Turkish guy tossed the ball too much to the body so it was great call by empire and
    Empire after great calls made big mistake...
    Last edited by Konrad Bak; 09-19-2020 at 10:44 PM.

  12. SofaChamp is online now
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 119 155
    S
    SofaChamp is online now
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 155 119

    User Info Menu


    Apr 2020
    Scotland
    155
    119
    525
    Read 0 Reviews
    #32
    This all happened quite some time ago now but I feel it important to note that the OTTV (Austrian TT organisation) eventually overruled the decision made on match day, declaring that the third umpire had no right to overrule a service decision. Thus, the final serve did count, Serdaroglu won that point, the set and the match, the tie finished 3-3 rather than 2-4 and SG Stockerau were belatedly awarded the Austrian National league title 2018/19.

    So as incredible as the scenes in the video were, the drama carried on for even longer.

    http://sportreport.biz/2019/08/13/oe...-meister-2019/

  13. MOG is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 191 578
    M
    MOG is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 578 191

    User Info Menu

    #33
    This is incorrect either umpire can fault a serve.

  14. SofaChamp is online now
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 119 155
    S
    SofaChamp is online now
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 155 119

    User Info Menu


    Apr 2020
    Scotland
    155
    119
    525
    Read 0 Reviews
    #34
    Quote Originally Posted by MOG
    This is incorrect either umpire can fault a serve.
    Yes, but in this case a THIRD umpire overruled the two match umpires.

  15. tt_beginner is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 10 109
    T
    tt_beginner is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 109 10

    User Info Menu


    Aug 2020
    Aaland
    109
    10
    219
    Read 0 Reviews
    #35
    that ending was insane lol

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Create a new Topic:
Title is required.