• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Results 1 to 11 of 11
    1. Top | #1
      sampletext is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: United States

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria FL 86g
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 Provincial black 40 deg
      Backhand Rubber Butterfly Tenergy 64 red max

      Join Date
      Jun 2019
      Posts
      37
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Jonathan Groth touching the table when the point is in play.

      Lol what is this (4:38).

    2. Top | #2
      zyu81 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Germany


      Join Date
      Mar 2019
      Posts
      4
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
      Someone call the police!

      Probably actually isn't even touching it, just camera angle and blurring.

    3. Top | #3
      PingLevels is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member
      PingLevels's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Peter Korbel
      Forehand Rubber T05
      Backhand Rubber T05

      Join Date
      Jun 2019
      Posts
      16
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      This is done By Freitas as well, dont see it as an issue!

    4. Top | #4
      Tony's Table Tennis is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Verified Pro Coach
      Master TTD Member Country: South Africa
      Tony's Table Tennis's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Stiga Intensity NCT (Cpen)
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 Neo National Blue Sponge
      Backhand Rubber Stiga Mantra M

      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      3,467
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 2,364 Times in 1,276 Posts
      If the umpire wants to be picky, they sure can award a point against he player touching the table with the free hand
      Founder and President - Tony's Table Tennis
      Head Coach - Tony's Table Tennis Academy
      www.ttshop.co.za
      www.facebook.com/tonystabletennis

    5. Top | #5
      ttopy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: United States


      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      11
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 12 Times in 4 Posts
      It's before the ball is in play. He takes it away right as Xue's toss hits the top of the arc. Use , and . to go forward/backward a frame at a time.

    6. Top | #6
      Archyan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Sweden

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05

      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      88
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by ttopy View Post
      It's before the ball is in play. He takes it away right as Xue's toss hits the top of the arc. Use , and . to go forward/backward a frame at a time.
      The ball is is in play the moment the ball leaves the hand.

    7. The Following User Likes Archyan's Post:

      ttopy (1 Week Ago)

    8. Top | #7
      ttopy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: United States


      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      11
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 12 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Archyan View Post
      The ball is is in play the moment the ball leaves the hand.
      Thank you - that's correct, so it is clearly illegal:

      2.5.2 The ball is in play from the last moment at which it is stationary on the palm of
      the free hand before being intentionally projected in service until the rally is
      decided as a let or a point.

      I should have checked before posting

    9. The Following User Likes ttopy's Post:

      phorkyas (1 Week Ago)

    10. Top | #8
      Hysteresis is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Australia

      Equipment:
      Blade Yasaka Ma Lin Soft Carbon
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3
      Backhand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 Neo

      Join Date
      Apr 2019
      Posts
      49
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 48 Times in 22 Posts
      Seems to be weirdly pushing against the rules for no real gain.

      I mean, it's unlikely to be called, because it breaks the flow of the game for something that has obviously no advantage. The umpire is unlikely to call something this trivial.

      On the other hand it IS technically against the rules, I don't know why they wouldn't just want to break that habit.

    11. Top | #9
      Archyan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Sweden

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05

      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      88
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Hysteresis View Post
      Seems to be weirdly pushing against the rules for no real gain.

      I mean, it's unlikely to be called, because it breaks the flow of the game for something that has obviously no advantage. The umpire is unlikely to call something this trivial.

      On the other hand it IS technically against the rules, I don't know why they wouldn't just want to break that habit.
      It clearly can has an advantage; opponent not seeing the the contact with the ball/not seeing the ball

    12. Top | #10
      Hysteresis is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Australia

      Equipment:
      Blade Yasaka Ma Lin Soft Carbon
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3
      Backhand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 Neo

      Join Date
      Apr 2019
      Posts
      49
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 48 Times in 22 Posts
      Wait. Does he actually do this on his own serve?

      I thought it was just something he did on his opponent's serve.

    13. Top | #11
      ttopy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: United States


      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      11
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 12 Times in 4 Posts
      I think we have some confusion here. I think there are two separate instances of Groth potentially touching the table.

      1) Groth is clearly touching the table when Xue starts his toss. I have touched the table prior to play to 'precisely' measure my distance from the table for the receive, so I believe he is using this as an aid. He just needs to stop touching before the toss (very minor imo, but still against the rules, and should be called). https://youtu.be/Ml36rhHtZbA?t=279 (just one of many instances)

      2) Groth also might be touching the table in his own service motion - as he moves the free hand away, it appears to brush the table top (I cannot be sure here). This is purely a bad habit, but call him on it imo, and it will stop pronto. https://youtu.be/Ml36rhHtZbA?t=274

      So neither is changing the game/rally, but are both illegal and unnecessary imo.

      We have carefully worded rules for a reason, and letting minor things slip can lead to the situation we have with rampant hidden serves that are not called.

      ...Dave...

      [Edit] - on review of the video, he is definitely touching the table on his own serve at times. Clearly illegal.
      Last edited by ttopy; 1 Week Ago at 11:57 PM.

    14. The Following 2 Users Like ttopy's Post:

      phorkyas (1 Week Ago),sampletext (1 Week Ago)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP