• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Poll: Was that double hit legal?

    Results 1 to 12 of 12
    1. Top | #1
      Michal_Z is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Slovak Republic
      Michal_Z's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Gewo Alexander Valuch
      Forehand Rubber Gewo Nexxus EL Pro 48
      Backhand Rubber Gewo Nexxus XT Pro 48

      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Slovakia
      Posts
      2,968
      Reviews
      Read 7 Reviews
      Liked 1,221 Times in 687 Posts

      Question Double hit is legal, right? How about this one??

      Hello everyone, licenced UMPIRES specially!
      I have a question - since few years ago, double hit is allowed stroke, so if you hit the ball with the finger then rubber and the ball lands on the table, everything is ok. So the double hit is legal.
      But - I got a teammate with like really shaky hands..
      And he made unwanted double hit in the match this Tuesday, I would like your opinion on this, was it legal or not?
      I have a video, the double hit is made at 0:45, so just let me know what you think and why..
      Thank you! ;-)


    2. Top | #2
      Tommy16 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Europe

      Equipment:
      Blade Maze ALC
      Forehand Rubber Andro Rasanter R47
      Backhand Rubber Andro Rasanter V47

      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Posts
      174
      Reviews
      Read 5 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 39 Posts
      Your mate didn’t hit the ball twice. It was one stroke with double touch to the rubber so perfectly legal imho.

    3. Top | #3
      yoass is offline
      says modestly attempting kōhaiship
      of Jeul-Tak
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Netherlands
      yoass's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Vanity II (D.A.b Studio Custom)
      Forehand Rubber DHS Gold Arc 8/50
      Backhand Rubber Nittaku Fastarc G-1

      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Location
      Tiel, The Netherlands
      Posts
      1,992
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 1,957 Times in 1,039 Posts
      The ITTF Handbook (current edition, dated May 2019) has the following item which I think is relevant. A point is scored:

      2.10.1.7 if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball more than once in succession;

      My italics.

      I don't see a deliberate multiple strike here.

    4. The Following User Likes yoass's Post:

      bobpuls (09-13-2019)

    5. Top | #4
      yogi_bear is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Equipment Expert
      Master TTD Member Country: Philippines
      yogi_bear's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Xiom Feel AX; Stiga Nostalgia All+
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 NEO Provincial
      Backhand Rubber Xiom Sigma II Pro; Stiga Mantra H

      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Philippines
      Posts
      3,145
      Reviews
      Read 75 Reviews
      Liked 1,530 Times in 965 Posts
      Yup, it was not deliberate. It happens when you hit the ball where your finger is in the blade head.

    6. Top | #5
      Michal_Z is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Slovak Republic
      Michal_Z's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Gewo Alexander Valuch
      Forehand Rubber Gewo Nexxus EL Pro 48
      Backhand Rubber Gewo Nexxus XT Pro 48

      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Slovakia
      Posts
      2,968
      Reviews
      Read 7 Reviews
      Liked 1,221 Times in 687 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by yogi_bear View Post
      Yup, it was not deliberate. It happens when you hit the ball where your finger is in the blade head.
      Yes, it was not deliberate, but it was 2 hits with the rubber ..
      Very specific, he wanted to push the ball but the shaky hands made the double hit..
      I will have umpire seminar 22nd so I will ask an umpire with blue badge ;-)

    7. Top | #6
      Kaizoku is offline
      says ShakeMyShakehand
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Norway
      Kaizoku's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade XVT Hinoki ZLC / Andro treiber Fi
      Forehand Rubber (BH) Rasanter R47
      Backhand Rubber (FH) Tibhar Evolution MX-P

      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Location
      Norway
      Posts
      468
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 238 Times in 143 Posts
      Interesting. I thought this was automatically illegal. But if it touches the shirt and racket its always illegal. Right?

      Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
      "Despite that there are disadvantages of being a Penhold, there are more positive points from it. And in playing table tennis, we all need to diversify." ~Xu Xin - The Cloud Walker

    8. Top | #7
      Archyan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Sweden

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Viscaria
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05

      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      112
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 34 Times in 26 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Michal_Z View Post
      [...]
      I will have umpire seminar 22nd so I will ask an umpire with blue badge ;-)
      This is completely legal; the rule is pretty weird but it basically states "as long as the player did not touch the ball twice on PURPOSE it is legal".

      Which is correct in the point stated above

    9. Top | #8
      Der_Echte is offline
      says Grand Consultant to the Office
      of the Goon Squad
       
      Master TTD Member Country: South Korea
      Der_Echte's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Nexy Batos ALC
      Forehand Rubber Tibhar MX-K
      Backhand Rubber Tibhar FX-S

      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Location
      Sacramento, USA
      Posts
      8,764
      Reviews
      Read 27 Reviews
      Liked 9,153 Times in 4,733 Posts
      Looking at the vid, it is very clear that the ball struck at time indicated is a LEGAL hit.

      Any trained umpire would and should call it that way.

      Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
      President, Korea Foreign Table Tennis Club. Hit us up on TTD or Facebook
      http://www.facebook.com/koreaforeignttc

      Janitor at NexyUSA TT Equipment Shop
      http://www.nexyusa.com

      View our Lame Nexy USA corporate FB page
      http://www.facebook.com/nexyusa

    10. The Following User Likes Der_Echte's Post:

      bobpuls (09-13-2019)

    11. Top | #9
      Xylit is offline
      says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Germany

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Tiago Apolonia ZLC
      Forehand Rubber Butterfly Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Butterfly Tenergy 64

      Join Date
      Feb 2016
      Posts
      539
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 700 Times in 298 Posts
      Looks perfectly legal to me.

    12. Top | #10
      42andbackpains is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: United States
      42andbackpains's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Gambler Fire Dragon Touch
      Forehand Rubber T05 Hard cause I like it Hard.
      Backhand Rubber Dignics 05

      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      254
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 429 Times in 177 Posts
      As long as the stroke is continuous without intent to double hit and below the wrist. It is a legal shot. I remember this question when i took the USATT club umpire test.
      Last edited by 42andbackpains; 09-12-2019 at 07:49 PM.
      One day at a time.
      Gambler Fire Dragon Touch 88.5
      T05 Hard & Dignics 05

    13. Top | #11
      suds79 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: United States
      suds79's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Gambler | Fire Dragon Touch - Penhold
      Forehand Rubber DHS | H3 Neo
      Backhand Rubber xiying | 979

      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      763
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 1,075 Times in 543 Posts
      Looks legal to me.

      Interesting that the player on the far side had a BH kill shot just waiting for him them but opted to not play it where the debate unfolded. I couldn't catch what was decided. Who was awarded the point? Was it replayed? etc.

      But looks legal to me. I'd like to think in the moment if I was in that situation, I just would have put that ball away and be done with it. (But I guess attacking on the BH probably isn't in his game with this chopping style. I suppose one of the drawbacks to the style)

      Yeah looked legal to me.
      Last edited by suds79; 09-12-2019 at 07:10 PM.

    14. Top | #12
      yogi_bear is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Equipment Expert
      Master TTD Member Country: Philippines
      yogi_bear's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Xiom Feel AX; Stiga Nostalgia All+
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3 NEO Provincial
      Backhand Rubber Xiom Sigma II Pro; Stiga Mantra H

      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Philippines
      Posts
      3,145
      Reviews
      Read 75 Reviews
      Liked 1,530 Times in 965 Posts
      That is an example of a double tap but legal. This was taken up years ago when I was having my Basic Umpire's Course and a diferent class when I had my ITTF Course Conductor Seminar.
      Quote Originally Posted by Michal_Z View Post
      Yes, it was not deliberate, but it was 2 hits with the rubber ..
      Very specific, he wanted to push the ball but the shaky hands made the double hit..
      I will have umpire seminar 22nd so I will ask an umpire with blue badge ;-)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP