Top tournaments based on prize money and ranking points

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2016
I'm a bit new to table tennis. I've been following it for a while now on ITTF streaming services. But I was a bit confused about the tournaments structure. Is there a breakdown somewhere that describes which are the top tournaments based on prize money and ranking points?

For instance, in tennis I can easily check what the prize money is for a winner say of Wimbledon or Roland Garros. I cannot see this in the normal calendar of the ITTF website.

Roughly from just experience I know the Olympics are the most important followed by World Championships.

After maybe there are the Platinum events followed by regular World tour events.

But I don't know how the recent ITTF-ATTU Asian Table Tennis Championships compares to all these.

And what are prizes and ranking for each? Then there's also the world cup which is a bit of a mystery how it works.

Thanks a lot for helping shed some light on the subject.

says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
Jan 2018
Olympic and World Title Events:
Olympics - every 4 years, singles, team, and mixed doubles(new for Tokyo 2020), typically in the 3rd quarter of the calendar year, 3 players per NOC for team, 2 of which for singles, 1 pair of which for mixed doubles
World Table Tennis Championships, usually shortened to WTTC - biannually, odd years, singles, doubles, mixed doubles, typically in the 2nd quarter of the calendar year, 3 players per association, 1 extra if top WR100, 1 extra if top WR20, 2 pairs for doubles and mixed doubles, host gets more
World Team Table Tennis Championships, usually shortened to WTTTC or just WTTC - biannually, even years, team only, typically in the 1st quarter of the calendar year, 3 players per association