What is a good beginner paddle for a defensive player?

says beginner (rating 700)
May 2019
I'm a beginner and have been playing a lot at the office for the past year using some cheap Chinese paddles from Amazon. We have a big tournament coming up in a couple months and I'd like to get something better.

I'm a defensive player and I just wait for the other player to make a mistake. I mostly just hit pushes or chops with my backhand, and try to put enough backspin on the ball to force the other player to hit it into the net. My chop isn't great though, and I want to get better at it. I'm also able to hit back a lot of the other player's smashes, so a paddle with good control would be good.

I've been reading about tacky and non-tacky rubbers and am not sure which would be better for me. I'm not sure if those paddles we got from Amazon have a tacky or non-tacky rubber. They are made in China, so does that mean the rubber is tacky?

Maybe I should get a non-tacky rubber on one side, and a tacky rubber on the other side, so I can try them out and see the difference? That might affect my serve though since I try to hit a backspin serve using the forehand side.

I'm also not sure if I should try short/long pips on one side. I believe I read that outward facing pips are better for choppers?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2018
If you are a beginner, it is probably too soon to really say that you are a defensive player. Maybe you just didn’t learn to attack yet.
My ultimate cheap Chinese setup would be
Blade: Yinhe Earth 3
Rubbers: Sanwei Taiji Plus both sides

Also, it is against the rules to play with pips before having a proper forehand.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2018
Yasaka sweden classic is a good Allround- to DEF blade. If you want to go more chop heavy, try donic defplay senso v3

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews