General questions and Equipment Recomendations for a college player

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2018
I may have mentioned this earlier in another thread some time ago, but I'm currently a college student who's been playing at my university's table tennis club for 2 years now. Our school is small and we do not have a coach or really adequate players/training equipment, but we make do and we're hopeful to get some funding this semester for a coach or at least practice space a few times a week. We're relatively small and our player quality is pretty bad, if I had to rate them by US scale, they'd around US 800-1100.

Regarding my form, I'm a penholder and I currently use the yasaka sweden classic with tornado v5 FH and focus 3 BH. I feel like I practice more and my technique is better, but I still lose pretty often to a lot of people with worse off forms than me, which is likely because my game mentality is bad, or I have awful habits. When I practice, my form is good and I find myself able to execute almost all basic strokes but in game, the chance never arises to perform some strokes or my game gets so stiff and passive that I'm unable to do it. The worst example is my RPB, which I get complimented so much on during practice, completely goes away during games where a ball would come and I would just end up weakly holding my backhand in front of me like a soft block.

Some bad habits and weaknesses I note off the top of my head:

• I don't get low enough when I drop my legs and arm.
  • I can't return any of my opponents attacks when they open up the ball
  • My shots are always flat.
  • I'm too slow to loop fast balls
  • Serves too obvious
  • I don't have time to aim and my shots are always centered (Footwork is bad)
  • My loop does not have as much arc (possibly because of chinese, hard, tacky rubbers I use)

Some of my strengths (or at least those that I think are decent).
  • My forehand flat hit is strong.