Propositions for replacing Virtuoso OFF- blade

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2015
Read 1 reviews
My current setup is Virtuoso OFF- with Vega Pro max on both sides.

It's a setup that I've been using for the last 3 years and has worked very well for me, as it helped me improve.

Now I'm looking for a replacement for V-, that has to be SLIGHTLY faster.

I will keep playing with Vega Pro's with the new blade, as I' very happy with these rubbers.

The characteristics that I'm looking from the new blade/setup, are the following:

1. Blade a bit faster than Virtuoso OFF-
2. Good control and good block.
3. A little lower arc than V-
4. Spinny and has to lift easily underspin

I am considering Virtuoso+, but I'm not really sure if it is faster enough and has a lower arc than Virtuoso.
I have an old Butterfly SK7 that i can use, but although it is faster with lower arc it feels a little "dead" and with no feeling at all, compared to Virtuoso.

Please give me blade suggestions, based on the characteristics I'm looking for.

I absolutely HATE carbon, so please your propositions have to be for all-wood blades.
(Interesting enough, the only composite blade that I've tried and liked was Ai Fukuhara Pro ZLF, that is not only discontinued but very expensive as well. From a brief search i've read that ZLF is not exactly carbon, but a type of plastic so all ZLF blades have very similar feeling to all-wood ones)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2016
I think V+ is a pretty safe bet, the feedback sure remains outstanding. I couldn't speak for sure about the throw, it does remain a typical 5-ply limba and I don't think the throw qualifies as low. Lower than the regular V-... Probably, but I don't know if you would find it "enough". I really like the V'King, but I know some people here find it too hard. You could always go for a 7-ply instead.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2014
Dont... just dont.