Am I mad? Thinking of changing style to modern defender

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2018
I imagine the answer is probably yes and its the wrong idea, but.. I have been toying with the idea of changing style to a modern defender.

What do you think are the skillsets or key strengths that fit that style? To see if they align.

Ive always played with two reverse rubbers in an attacking style, but do like to play away from the table.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2011
Yes you are mad, but I guess I am too. I started playing seriously as a penholder, but switched to shakehand, specifically as a defender. Two reasons: I like to be different, and at the club level, there are few defenders. And, I have always thought that defending is an aesthetically beautiful skill. I watch all the videos I can of Hitomi Sato and Honoka Hashimoto; from them I have learned the twiddle backhand attack. When I execute a good one, it is a rush! At the club level, no-one else does it, and to do it is rewarding, even if I lose the match! But, since changing, my rating has marched upward; but there is no denying that to be a good defender takes a long time and hours and hours of practice.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2016
Just know that defending is RARELY as glorious as those top players on youtube make it seem... it can be a very fun style, depending on your opponent.

To me it's not like being an attacker, where you try to impose your gameplan on the other player no matter what (attacks!). With defending, you must first be ATTACKED before you can really defend.

Reactions: suds79 and jammmail
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2013
Just know that defending is RARELY as glorious as those top players on youtube make it seem... it can be a very fun style, depending on your opponent.