Can a late starter become a quality veteran player?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2017
I started playing seriously at 60 and my aim is simply to become a decent local league player. It seems that most of the quality older players I meet have been playing for many years and often were good juniors.

Do you know of any top veteran players who were not top junior players? Is it possible to become good enough to play at the veteran world championships after taking up table tennis at 30 or 40?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2013
Depends on how much practice you're able to get per week and how comitted you are. Giving up will not serve you any good at least.
A good coach is needed. And I think that at the age of 60 it's definetly important to work out as well, to have good strength and stamina. Nerding around on the internet regarding techniques can also do you good.
But proper training and repetition of the basics and footwork practice is a must.

Sendt fra min SM-A202F med Tapatalk

Reactions: Takkyu_wa_inochi
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2020
I restarted at age 59 after not having played for 38 years. Key point is to thoroughly warm up and stretch before the practice, and to be really careful if you are overweight since the load on the knees and back is high for sudden unplanned movements (getting to a ball far far away). With bi-weekly 1 hr coaching I made it to USATT 1300 rating at the 2019 US Open after 9 months of practice (2-4 hours/day 6x/week, partially with a robot) and lost 30 (13.5kg). However, I strongly recommend to learn the correct technique especially for top spin since the older European style technique we learned in the 70's is OK for teens but not for 60 year old backs.
So e.g. go to YangYangTT and watch the top spin intro.
I also had issues with tennis arm but that went away due to the Covid-19 imposed break where I spent the time building up the arm muscles with light weights.