Back to Forum
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. Sali is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 747 1,574
    S
    Sali is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,574 747
    #1

    was it correct decision?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zp0ilmW6WCg&t=367s
    last set score 8:8. Seems correct but I am quite surprise why Kun did not finish easy ball.

  2. Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,076 1,303
    Tinykin's Avatar
    Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,303 1,076
    #2
    I think that Kun thought that the ball from Hugo hit the table then net. There were 2x umpires for that match so no doubt that the correct decision was made. But I will say that that net must have been very stiff.
    I am also surprised that he did go for the ball as it's something that happens at almost every tournament or training session.
    Last edited by Tinykin; 09-29-2020 at 10:49 AM.
    My table tennis club in Bristol, England
    http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

  3. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #3
    Net assembly(clamp, post, knob etc.) is considered part of the actual net. Many pros seem to be unaware of this.

    https://youtu.be/9A0OdbliuVo?t=73
    https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...ly_2015_v2.pdf
    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

  4. Archyan is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 87 197
    A
    Archyan is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 197 87

    User Info Menu

    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin
    [...] But I will say that that net must have been very stiff.
    I am also surprised that he did go for the ball as it's something that happens at almost every tournament or training session.
    It happens at every training session or tournament, but you still got it incorrect? The ball hit the net clamp, not the net itself. How stiff the net is has nothing to do with what happend.

  5. Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 100 103
    M
    Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 103 100

    User Info Menu


    Feb 2017
    Norway
    103
    100
    395
    Read 0 Reviews
    #5
    Instant classic:
    https://youtu.be/yIYLt4AaHTs

    Quote Originally Posted by zeio
    Net assembly(clamp, post, knob etc.) is considered part of the actual net. Many pros seem to be unaware of this.

    https://youtu.be/9A0OdbliuVo?t=73
    https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...ly_2015_v2.pdf

    The Following 2 Users Like Mytoman's Post:

    mart1nandersson and zeio


  6. Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,076 1,303
    Tinykin's Avatar
    Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,303 1,076
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Archyan
    It happens at every training session or tournament, but you still got it incorrect? The ball hit the net clamp, not the net itself. How stiff the net is has nothing to do with what happend.
    No need to be an a-hole in your comment. I did not look at in slow-mo. But you are correct, it hit the net clamp.
    My table tennis club in Bristol, England
    http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

  7. mart1nandersson is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 751 1,085
    mart1nandersson's Avatar
    mart1nandersson is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,085 751
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Mytoman
    Excuse my stupidity but the ball only seem to hit the net clamp and not the table. Was Sidorenko right in this case?

  8. Lula is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,355 1,635
    L
    Lula is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,635 1,355

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2016
    Sweden
    1,635
    1,355
    4440
    Read 0 Reviews
    #8
    Have it always Been part of the net? Think they have changed this rule over time?

  9. cytivrat is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 8 24
    C
    cytivrat is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 24 8
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mart1nandersson
    Excuse my stupidity but the ball only seem to hit the net clamp and not the table. Was Sidorenko right in this case?
    If umpire is right and it hit net clamp, then Sidorenko is wrong.
    But I think that it hit table there. Because after hitting net clamp it was supposed to go more forward rather than sideways. And it looks to me that it went to the side after contact. In this case Sidorenko is right.
    Watched it on a phone, so maybe I missed some details there

  10. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #10
    According to ColinEvolution.pdf, the rule was changed in 1993.
    Net clamp defined as part of net assembly and not of playing surface.
    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

  11. Konrad Bak is offline
    says legendary EJ
     
    Elite TTD Member 218 1,029
    K
    Konrad Bak is offline
    says legendary EJ
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,029 218

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2016
    Poland
    1,029
    218
    1534
    Read 2 Reviews
    #11
    So timo boll with his diving shot was correct vs LGY? Someone remind here, Adam Bobrow was on the mic

  12. Jimbob MacInbred is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 323 311
    Jimbob MacInbred's Avatar
    Jimbob MacInbred is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 311 323
    #12
    Quote Originally Posted by mart1nandersson
    Excuse my stupidity but the ball only seem to hit the net clamp and not the table. Was Sidorenko right in this case?
    Quote Originally Posted by cytivrat
    If umpire is right and it hit net clamp, then Sidorenko is wrong.
    But I think that it hit table there. Because after hitting net clamp it was supposed to go more forward rather than sideways. And it looks to me that it went to the side after contact. In this case Sidorenko is right.
    Watched it on a phone, so maybe I missed some details there

    Watched it many times. Ball only hit the netclamp, not the table. In fact I never for once got the impression that it might have hit the table edge. So point to Yu Khinhang. Only the discussion afterwards can really be considered an instant classic.

    The Following 2 Users Like Jimbob MacInbred's Post:

    mart1nandersson and Mytoman


  13. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #13
    That "save" by Boll was different. LGY's return clipped the net[1], bounced on the table then touched the net[2], then bounced on either the net clamp or the undercarriage or both[3] before Boll scooped it back up.

    The point was still in play for [1] and [2], but would've been over for [3] if it hit the undercarriage, according to:

    2.10.1.3 if, after he or she has made a service or a return, the ball touches anything other than the net assembly before being struck by an opponent;
    The question then, is it the undercarriage or attachment system? Is the attachment system part of the net assembly?
    Chapter 3 and 6: https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...oD_2016_v2.pdf
    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

  14. Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 100 103
    M
    Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 103 100

    User Info Menu


    Feb 2017
    Norway
    103
    100
    395
    Read 0 Reviews
    #14
    The undercarriage is not a part of the net assembly. They are legs...
    In all these cases the umpires were right, and the players/pundits were wrong!!
    It is basic umpire training: Table is table, net is net, anything else is, well..., anything else.
    According to the law these are easy situations, but sometimes it might be difficult to see.


    Quote Originally Posted by zeio
    That "save" by Boll was different. LGY's return clipped the net[1], bounced on the table then touched the net[2], then bounced on either the net clamp or the undercarriage or both[3] before Boll scooped it back up.

    The point was still in play for [1] and [2], but would've been over for [3] if it hit the undercarriage, according to:



    The question then, is it the undercarriage or attachment system? Is the attachment system part of the net assembly?
    Chapter 3 and 6: https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...oD_2016_v2.pdf

  15. Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 100 103
    M
    Mytoman is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 103 100

    User Info Menu


    Feb 2017
    Norway
    103
    100
    395
    Read 0 Reviews
    #15
    Name:  Skjermbilde.jpg
Views: 171
Size:  12.8 KB
    This is from FAQ page 25 on the ITTF URC page. And from the law: The net assembly shall consist of the net, its suspension and the supportingposts, including the clamps attaching them to the table.

    Quote Originally Posted by zeio
    That "save" by Boll was different. LGY's return clipped the net[1], bounced on the table then touched the net[2], then bounced on either the net clamp or the undercarriage or both[3] before Boll scooped it back up.

    The point was still in play for [1] and [2], but would've been over for [3] if it hit the undercarriage, according to:



    The question then, is it the undercarriage or attachment system? Is the attachment system part of the net assembly?
    Chapter 3 and 6: https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...oD_2016_v2.pdf

    The Following User Likes Mytoman's Post:

    zeio

    Last edited by Mytoman; 09-30-2020 at 10:13 AM. Reason: Adding text

  16. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #16

    The Following User Likes zeio's Post:

    Mytoman

    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

  17. yogi_bear is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 2,768 5,870
    yogi_bear's Avatar
    yogi_bear is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 5,870 2,768
    #17
    Also, this is a question of fact and not question of interpretation so the umpire's decision stands.

  18. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #18
    Some info on the FAQ, for future reference.

    The FAQ was first released around Aug, 2016. It's a document of "recommendations" presented by the ITTF URC, as opposed to interpretations or clarifications by the ITTF.

    This document presents a lot of questions which have been sent to ITTF URC/discussed during IR conferences and concerns/issues which are not always exactly defined in regulations and directives. Therefore ITTF URC presents recommendations, which will help us to have a common standard in all events. Nevertheless it is possible that some described procedures have to be adapted to the circumstances at each specific event.
    10/2016
    https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...TF_URC_FAQ.pdf
    5/2017
    https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...09/FAQ2017.pdf
    9/2020
    https://www.ittf.com/wp-content/uplo...-Questions.pdf

    The Following User Likes zeio's Post:

    Mytoman

    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

  19. zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 7,770 5,591
    zeio's Avatar
    zeio is offline
    says 快、準、狠、變、轉
     
    Master TTD Member 5,591 7,770

    User Info Menu


    Jan 2018
    PNG
    5,591
    7,770
    21309
    Read 0 Reviews
    #19
    Shang Kun: Cholei! C'mon!
    Calderano: YES!

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mimMgLGmtZk&t=906s
    Race for Tokyo 2020+1 - Women's Top 11, Japan
    Time capsules - 2020, 2024, 2028

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Create a new Topic:
Title is required.