Which player should I model my forehand after?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2021
I am fairly new to table tennis and I would like to know which player has the best forehand topspin techniqe that I should model mine after? My current forehand is ok but the recovery takes a while and the stroke is very long and it is not very spinnyso during the rally it is really inefficient and i dont habe enough time to make the stroke most of the time. So i think it would be better to rebuild it from the ground up. I am a 6 foot 1 right handed shakehand player with long arms and I am in good shape if that makes a difference.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2020
Read 1 reviews
If you have the physique of FZD model the chinese players which are quite similar overall.
Same goes for the equipment ofcourse and your technique.

If you are weaker and dont have a good core stability, go for the more european style of technique and players you want to model.
I know many players who try to imitate the Timo Bolls strokes with great success. His strokes are easier to recover from and are really controled. He even has some videos on his own around his playing style.

says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
OP,

At your level, take a look at successful amateur players around you a few levels better, look for what they do to be successful.

That will have a LOT more you can take away and apply to yourself than a recommendation to coopy a pro you will never be able to copy.

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews