Switching from Chines LPs to European LPs

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2021
Hi all,
I have been playing with my current setup for several months now (Donic Defplay Senso, Nittaku Fastarc G-1 2.0mm FH, and Dawei 388d-1 0.6mm BH) and have been having a ton of fun and am overall pretty satisfied. All parts of my game have improved significantly since my switch from pre-made to my current setup, but I have noticed one area that I particularly struggle in, especially against very good offensive players. When starting a rally, I like to utilize a close to the table chop/push with my LPs deep to their side of the table unless the ball is immediately attackable. I've gotten pretty good at the shot and the ball is always low to the net, the only problem is when I do it off of a no spin or light backspin ball. I find that the ball comes back with the most miniscule amounts of backspin and the opponent is very comfortable opening up with a fast loop. Often times, I will miss this first choppable ball because it is too quick and the placement is too sporadic. If I can return this ball then I often end up winning the point because I can chop back all of their consecutive loops until I get an opening, but I feel I need to close up this hole in my game. I have heard that Japanese LPs such as the Feint Long and P1R series are much better at putting backspin on balls like this compared to my current Chinese LPs. Is it a wise idea to switch over, and if so which would be the best LP to switch to?

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2021
Read 1 reviews
Hi all,
. I have heard that European LPs such as the Feint Long and P1R series are much better at putting backspin on balls like this compared to my current Chines LPs. Is it a wise idea to switch over, and if so which would be the best LP to switch to?

errr.... just an FYI - both, Feint Long & P1R are Japanese, and not European ..

This user has no status.