My game needs serious help

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2019
Hi all! I have been playing table tennis for about 34 years. I’m currently 46. Started out with a smallleague that is still going today (but I’m Covid pause). I haven’t played in almost 1 year 1/2. I play with a Sardius (too fast, I know), with Tacky Chop on FH side, and Super Anti Butterfly on BH. I am rated about 1100 USATT, but have beaten a player as high as 1940. Have also notched wins vs 1600-1800 ish players. At the same time, I lose consistently to them, and am nowhere near there level. One player that is almost 2000 beats me on average of 11-3 or 4. My grip is a behind a thumb grip, where the thumb wrests on the paddle, and the other 4 fingers grip the handle. My shots are very inconsistent, and it is difficult for me to hit, smash, and kill shot consistently. I can’t loop or even deliver topspin. I push a lot, block and smash. That’s about it. My serves are decent. Pretty spinny with my wrist action. I play in a league where I’m one of the two top players, and the rest are mostly from 400-900. I played a 1250 player about 4 years ago in a sanctioned tourney and he barely won (pips got me). Also, I can’t read spin well. Don’t really have any coaches anywhere near my area (very rural). Nearest coaching is 3 hours away, and maybe 1 hours and 45 mins for a shake hand coach, but I really don’t want to go that route. My goal is simple: I want to improve and reach 1500. I don’t know how to use anti well, and my grip makes it hard to twiddle. I have also thought about changing grips, since so many people say it is what’s holding me back. At my age, the faster I can get better, the better : ). I would appreciate any and all advice. Thank you all in advance. Attached is a oic(s) of my grip. My natural stance is to hold it sideways, and I cover the whole table with it. If I could get it, that would be ideal. But if not, I can go another way.

This user has no status.