Can't topspin good with new rubber?

This user has no status.
Hi everyone. I have been using the orange sponge hurricane 3 for a few years until my trainer from my new club told me that the rubbers had completely worn off so I had to replace them. They recommended me the Andro Rasanter R42 for my forehand so I bought that one and replaced my Hurricane 3 with it, but for some reason after replacing the rubbers topspinning doesn't really work me for. Now I hit them very hard (very loud sound when hitting) while I use the same technique as before. Does switching rubbers have influence on my technique or something?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2019
Read 2 reviews
Sometimes yes.

You've switched from a tacky style rubber to a tension style rubber, they behave very different, I don't know why they suggested you to switch to a different type, but I would say you should switch back to hurricane 3 (get a new sheet of course), since clearly you don't like the change.

Reactions: mocker88 and ttarc
says Table tennis clown
says Table tennis clown
Apr 2020
I found that everybody I ask what kind of rubbers I should use will recommend to me the same rubbers they personally use.
Many people think along the line of : " If it's good for me - it is good for everybody " !
WRONG
If you can play well with a sticky Hurricane 3, stick with it

Reactions: mocker88
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2019
Read 4 reviews
I found that everybody I ask what kind of rubbers I should use will recommend to me the same rubbers they personally use.
Many people think along the line of : " If it's good for me - it is good for everybody " !
WRONG
If you can play well with a sticky Hurricane 3, stick with it

I kind of agree and don't agree. This can go both ways. Don't change equipment unless you have a concrete need.

You hit through the rubber every single time you hit with 50% of your capacity? You might want to change.