trying to pick a balanced setup

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2022
As the title says, I am not so sure about the setup I am planning to buy.
I have only bought premade rackets up until now and just play competitively with my friends I am now transitioning to a custom made racket and am really confused.
I picked mainly parts from AliExpress (because they ship to my country) and 1 that ships freely from amazon, the list:
Blade: Yasaka Ma Lin Extra Offensive FL
FH rubber: DHS NEO HURRICANE 3 41h
BH rubber: DHS hurricane 3-50 37h
no clue which glue and tape to pick
and I thought about boosting with baby oil because I can.

I'd say I am an intermediate player, I play aggressively and enjoy to loop, mostly a FH player.
recommendations?

edit: forgot to say that I am a student and don't have alot to spend on a racket, I think this is my upper budget but it could maybe stretch a little more.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2021
Do you have an idea of your USATT rating?

I would say I'm about 1500 with a FH loop oriented style, and I would find DHS H3 on Ma Lin Extra Offensive blade too slow for my style. Especially if you don't plan to boost your rubber, I would personally find the H3 rubber lacking in bounciness. Also, the blade is not too fast. If you are looking on Aliexpress, I think you can find a lot of better alternatives.

Hurricane on backhand is even worse, in my opinion. It's harder to accelerate through the ball on the BH, so I would want a bouncier rubber. H3 might feel dead.

Are you looking specifically for wood blade? Are you looking specifically for tacky rubber?

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2022