Competition: How should I approach it?

says Rozena! You complete me.
Mar 2021
It has been three years since we have any competition going, no thanks to Covid. Prior to Covid I did not take TT really seriously. It is only after this Lockdown ease that I began to be a more competitive oriented player ( or at least this is what I hope to be in the future ).

So, I am totally new to this competition thingy. I want to ask you guys some questions.

1. NDH & my coach who saw my previous games said I was too passive in my game and I should play more aggressive / offensively even at the expense of my chance of winning. They say it is good for my long term / strategic development.

2. My clubmates thinks otherwise, they told me not to be too aggressive and to take a safer less risky approach. Win first and strategic whatchamacallitmagicalthingy whatever comes later.

What say you guys & girls? Is there a middle path that is win-win? Lets' hear some thoughts from this fair TT community.

Last edited:
Reactions: NDH and jammmail
This user has no status.
This is just my own way: I personally always play aggressively. There is nothing to lose when I lose a game, so there is no point for me to play safely.

I believe you understand it as well, so I guess your real question is that you are not sure when you should open up. Trust your coach, trust your hard training in the past several months.

Last edited:
Reactions: jammmail
1. Make damn sure to have fun.
2. Don’t think too much of if you win or not,
Then there is less risk to hold you back.
3. Winning can come later, there is always a next
tournament.

Cheers
L-zr

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2020
Read 3 reviews

In short: if you trust your coach, do what he says :)