Forehand contact point

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2022
Read 6 reviews
HI all

I have been working on my contact quality recently aswell as where I make contact with the ball - due to the fairly high level of dust in my shed I am blessed/cursed with a lot of ball marks on my rubber when using my robot
- see pic.

Given I am reading that the optimum place for contact for a topspin FH is towards the top quarter of the blade (3/3) I was really surprised to see how far away I am from this placement.

It is quite challenging to move the contact point as in order to do so it feels as though I am too far away from the ball - although I am obviously not.

I am keen to hear any thoughts on this and if you have considered or looked at where you make contact?

Cheers

Peter

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
I'm not an expert but I think in the middle is fine but you should work on making the mark pattern smaller.

I have seen some videos of pro rackets and basically it was all worn out at like a tennis ball sized spot.

Easier said than done of course.

Reactions: Takkyu_wa_inochi
This user has no status.
Yeah i do the same and check it every now and then, especially if i hit a stroke and the ball miss or flew different than i expected.
actually this is common practise as even pros do this if they hit the ball and it felt weird. Somekind of qualitycontrol for your own strokes.

Reactions: ttarc
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2019
Read 2 reviews

Interesting - thx.

How do you adjust the contact - move further away physically?

Not really, the rebound board is all about consistency on your part, so if you can hit say 200 in a roll, you’ll definitely be hitting on roughly the same position on your paddle.

Reactions: Wrighty67
says toooooo much choice!!
says toooooo much choice!!
Jul 2020
Read 11 reviews