Help on new rubbers

This user has no status.
Hi everyone,

After a 11 year hiatus I started playing again back in March. I started off with my old blade (Butterfly Bryce FX on a Butterfly Timo Boll OFF frame) but the frame had cracked, so in september I purchased a new blade.

I was looking for more control and got advised to take Rozena's and paired it with a Petr Korbel frame. I am however still lacking the control, I feel it has decreased in the short game, but gained a little when attacking compared to my old blade.

I'm looking into getting new rubbers (possibly a full blade, to sell this one as it's hardly used) and through my own research I landed on Yasaka Rakza Z rubbers. I am a local level player and getting back into competion. My technique is on a beginner going intermediate level, but I am eager to improve. I play active and like to attack and set-up attacks for myself.

My question to you all would be, would the Rakza Z's be a too advanced rubber for me, or would I be able to handle them? I am doubting that my lack of technique would hinder me with the Rakza Z's and that I would be better off improving on Rakza 7's for the first while.

Would like your input!

Dennis

Last edited:
says Gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci...
says Gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci...
Jul 2014
Rakza Z will be harder, slower and steadier with higher grip than Rozena. Control-wise it is considerably less bouncy with a safe high arc off the rubber but generating penetrating speed will be a bit more difficult without a solid swing. I think R7 and RZ are both control oriented rubbers that serve different purposes, RZ is made for a control loop game and R7 is for a control drive game, but since you are coming from Bryce FX you may feel more comfortable with Rakza7 Soft.

Last edited:
This user has no status.