Red and Black are different?

says I'm still learning Table Tennis.
Nov 2022
I read some posts said that the red and black rubbers aren't identical due to the colour pigment used in the manufacturing process.

In this post, the writer says that black rubber is softer and stickier than red. The tackiness lasts longer.

The red rubber, however, is harder. The top sheet expands more easily, is slightly thicker, but is less tacky. Additionally, red rubbers typically have less spin.

According to the writer, this is why many players are using black rubber on their FH and red on their BH.

Are these true in a real play situation, or are they only theoretical?

Some players prefer red for FH and black for BH. With today's manufacturing technology, it doesn't make sense that the manufacturer can't produce the exact quality of rubbers, regardless of the colours, if the pigment problem is true.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
The only convincing reason to me for using Black Rubber on FH is that CNT players are using black rubbers on FH. They are using black rubber on FH because the FH rubbers supplied to them by DHS are black. Those DHS FH rubbers are black because the sponges for those rubbers are blue. They prefer the performance of blue sponges on FH than orange sponges.

Reactions: Kopp
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2018
There is a difference between red and black rubbers even ESN or Butterfly or whoever makes them. They cannot make it exactly the same as they are not exactly the same. Usually red sheets are a little harder than black. If you like harder rubber on your forehand you should use red sheet on FH, if you like a more supple rubber use black.

Red sheets show wear later or less so it's also a good idea to use it on FH for that reason. I myself follow the Chinese, black FH, red BH.

But now in some cases you have options for other colors, green, blue, pink, violet.