local tournament - my results

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2012
Hi guys,

This weekend I represented my organization in an inter-corporate tournament. A little bit of background: I started learning tt from September last year. I play every weekend with a coach. This is my 3rd tournament so far. I played a tournament last November and one in February. I have never won a singles match before.

On saturday, I went to the tournament with 6 months of training behind me. I knew I could win a few matches. But I was also nervous from the time I woke up. In the team event, I lost my first 2 singles matches (best of 3, to my horror). I faced an unorthodox right-hander who had a good BH push and counter but no FH. In the next I lost to a lefty. I lost the 1st game and leveled it in the next, only to lose the 3rd. My loops were not landing. I came to know that in hot and humid conditions one has to take a full swing for loops.. have you felt the same?
Lesson: There's no time to get things right in best of 3's. Have to be spot on from the 1st point.
I won my next singles match against what was supposed to be my toughest match of the day. Against a right handed counter player, I got him into pushes and kept him pinned to his backhand. I won it 2-1. Our team finished 3rd in our group and we played for the silver cup. I was up against a chopper this time. My first competitive match against a chopper and I was so confused. I lost 3-0. That guy would win the men's singles on sunday. :)

On sunday, it was time for the men's singles. By now, I knew what to expect. My loop was consistent and I managed to win the first 2 rounds 3-0. 3rd round was against an anti-spin player. He had an old Mark V on one side and Yasaka antipower on BH. I couldn't do much against him and lost meekly. -1,-6,-1. I will try to upload the video of this match.