• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 20 of 22
    1. Top | #1
      TableTennisDaily is offline
      says T2 Diamond this week should be
      fun!
       
      Administrator Country: England
      TableTennisDaily's Avatar

      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      3,915
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 6,018 Times in 1,715 Posts

      Ding Ning Serve - Illegal?

      Is Ding Ning Foul Serving?

      Check out the picture below, let us know your thoughts


    2. Top | #2
      Mennovanos is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Netherlands

      Equipment:
      Blade Timo Boll Spirit
      Forehand Rubber Victas V>01 Limber 2.0mm Black
      Backhand Rubber Victas V>01 2.0mm Red

      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      22
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well, the rules are still written in a strange way.
      She does throw the ball upwards, but not the required height and she throws it towards her, allowing her to generate much more spin.

      I do agree with the umpire on that call.

    3. Top | #3
      verlajos is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Hungary
      verlajos's Avatar

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      25
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by TableTennisDaily View Post
      Is Ding Ning Foul Serving?

      Check out the picture below, let us know your thoughts
      Bath not this serv was in final by umpire punished.
      2:1 6:2 Ding Ning served and i think that wasn't eihter illegal.

    4. Top | #4
      Davott is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: UK

      Equipment:
      Blade STIGA Offensive Classic
      Forehand Rubber XIOM Sigma Euro
      Backhand Rubber XIOM Musa

      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Lancaster
      Posts
      44
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
      Yes it is illegal, but the issue is that these serves weren't picked up on earlier in the competition. The final is not the place to start being picky about serves. Shame.

    5. The Following User Likes Davott's Post:

      danheo (08-02-2012)

    6. Top | #5
      scylla24 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      International TTD Member
      scylla24's Avatar

      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      NC/VA, United States
      Posts
      499
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 5 Times in 7 Posts
      A lot of people are way too nitpicky about the serving rule. Words are by their very nature subject to interpretation, and the rules written regarding serving are no different. The writer of the rules purposely added the word nearly in the portion that says project the ball nearly vertical upwards, in order to allow some leeway. What is a correct definition of nearly? There isn't one. And that's the way it should be. You would utterly destroy sports if you defined and executed each rule too narrowly. Sports by their inherent nature need some level of wiggle room and flow, without having some umpire to barge their way into the game and unnecessarily affecting it. Frankly the amount of spin imparted by throwing the ball a little towards you is completely negligible.

      "She does throw the ball upwards, but not the required height and she throws it towards her, allowing her to generate much more spin." is simply not true. A professional serve has so much spin that adding 1-2 rotations per second does absolutely nothing.

      People also talk a ton about covering up the ball when the fact is, the video we see is completely different from the viewpoint that an opposing player gets. What looks like an illegal serve from our point of view may be perfectly visible to the opposing player. What should be the measure for whether a serve is illegal is if the opposing player brings it up with the referee. To have the referee interpret the rule excessively narrowly ruins the game. Especially considering the fact that the ref sits at the side of the table and thus his view of the serve is nothing like what the opposing player has.

    7. Top | #6
      WiWa is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Netherlands
      WiWa's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Timo Boll Spirit
      Forehand Rubber Xiom Vega Pro
      Backhand Rubber Xiom Vega Pro

      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Netherlands
      Posts
      1,880
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 123 Times in 97 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by scylla24 View Post
      A lot of people are way too nitpicky about the serving rule. Words are by their very nature subject to interpretation, and the rules written regarding serving are no different. The writer of the rules purposely added the word nearly in the portion that says project the ball nearly vertical upwards, in order to allow some leeway. What is a correct definition of nearly? There isn't one. And that's the way it should be. You would utterly destroy sports if you defined and executed each rule too narrowly. Sports by their inherent nature need some level of wiggle room and flow, without having some umpire to barge their way into the game and unnecessarily affecting it. Frankly the amount of spin imparted by throwing the ball a little towards you is completely negligible.

      "She does throw the ball upwards, but not the required height and she throws it towards her, allowing her to generate much more spin." is simply not true. A professional serve has so much spin that adding 1-2 rotations per second does absolutely nothing.

      People also talk a ton about covering up the ball when the fact is, the video we see is completely different from the viewpoint that an opposing player gets. What looks like an illegal serve from our point of view may be perfectly visible to the opposing player. What should be the measure for whether a serve is illegal is if the opposing player brings it up with the referee. To have the referee interpret the rule excessively narrowly ruins the game. Especially considering the fact that the ref sits at the side of the table and thus his view of the serve is nothing like what the opposing player has.
      I agree. Some of the faulted serves were called when the umpire was looking at Ding Ning's back. That's just ridiculous.

    8. Top | #7
      PaulJ5 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Philippines
      PaulJ5's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade R.I.T.C OFF 729
      Forehand Rubber R.I.T.C 729
      Backhand Rubber R.I.T.C 755 LP

      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      29
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 3 Times in 5 Posts
      . she has been doing that serve since and why wasnt she pointed out on that? but I think LiXX would still have won it. the umpire just did her job. I dont know if its illegal or not.

    9. Top | #8
      danheo is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: South Korea

      Equipment:
      Blade Stiga tube light
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05
      Backhand Rubber Spin Art

      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      1
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Whether it is right or wrong, I think there is no reason to do the thing that people do not like. Ding Ning's fault.

    10. Top | #9
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Davott View Post
      Yes it is illegal, but the issue is that these serves weren't picked up on earlier in the competition. The final is not the place to start being picky about serves. Shame.

      so true , i dont believe throwing the ball into your body can create much more spin thats enough for someone to say that the server is in advantage...table tennis points are always unique and have countless variations so its pointless to argue about that . T

      This rule is totally stupid , and if the ittf dont want to change it then at least give specific strict instructions to the umpires . calling a fault @ the olympics final and not in previous games is horrible for the publicity of the sport . The crowd cheered for ding ning just because after that injustice
      I suck real bad so I train to suck less

    11. Top | #10
      scylla24 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      International TTD Member
      scylla24's Avatar

      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      NC/VA, United States
      Posts
      499
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 5 Times in 7 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by danheo View Post
      Whether it is right or wrong, I think there is no reason to do the thing that people do not like. Ding Ning's fault.
      What? that makes no sense.... the issue is entirely about whether it is right or wrong according to the rules. The players are rarely the one complaining about a serve. That ought to be thee measure of whether a serve is illegal or not. Not some clueless ref, who doesn't even see the serve from the correct viewpoint

    12. Top | #11
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      anyway li xiao xia played better no matter what and deserved to win . that though doesnt change the fact that the umpire took away from ding her chance for a decent fight . She didnt train so hard for stupid rules to spoil her game , and in such a way ! the first time that the rule was set to action (for her games) was in this final only ! what happened to all the other fault serves that she made?

    13. Top | #12
      Baal is offline
      says Ba'al has spoken
       
      Master TTD Member


      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Houston, Texas
      Posts
      2,434
      Reviews
      Read 8 Reviews
      Liked 4,155 Times in 1,672 Posts
      As best as I can tell from those pictures the ball certainly traveled 15 cm and is legal. This is especially true if the picture to the right shows the ball at something less than its maximum height. It is sufficiently close that the umpire is out of her mind for calling it in an Olympic final. But the umpire evidently wanted to make herself "important", instead of being honored for simply being there. I certainly hope she never gets to umpire a significant ITTF event again. When they changed these rules, it was just a matter of time before something like this happened, since the umpires are never in a position to see clearly.

    14. The Following 2 Users Like Baal's Post:

      dongminglau (08-03-2012),mgpyone (08-03-2012)

    15. Top | #13
      azlan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      V.I.P TTD Member Country: Malaysia
      azlan's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade STIGA EBENHOLZ VII
      Forehand Rubber STIGA CALIBRA LT PLUS
      Backhand Rubber XIOM VEGA PRO

      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
      Posts
      1,871
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 155 Times in 121 Posts
      Looking at the entire game, I saw that normally her toss was over her head, but that particular time, it was about her chin level. And since her toss has always been inwards, that low toss made it more prominent and the umpire had to call it as a fault.
      To improve, we must enjoy the game and above all have fun



    16. Top | #14
      ducksick is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Established TTD Member Country: Malaysia
      ducksick's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP CPen Musko
      Forehand Rubber T64FX
      Backhand Rubber T64 FX

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      155
      Reviews
      Read 2 Reviews
      Liked 33 Times in 20 Posts
      From the chest level to her chin... more than 16cm as per rules. I don't think anything wrong. And how bout last night game esp Dima service? Almost identical height? No?

    17. Top | #15
      yang_fan is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: United States

      Equipment:
      Blade STIGA Clipper CC
      Forehand Rubber Provincial Hurricane 3
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05

      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      USA
      Posts
      51
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
      the main problem with the situation is not if the serve is legal or not, it is if there was some intention to manipulate the spin of the serve with the toss. If she CLEARLY was just serving as normal and not having the intention of cheating, she should not be called. Also, where is the consistency of these calls? if your going to call that serve as illegal, you have to call all serves by most players illegal, and that would just ruin the game entirely.

    18. Top | #16
      Mr. RicharD is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: United States

      Equipment:
      Blade JOOLA Falcon Fast
      Forehand Rubber JOOLA Rhyzm P
      Backhand Rubber Hurricane 3 BS

      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      912
      Reviews
      Read 4 Reviews
      Liked 69 Times in 58 Posts
      I've said this before, but it is hard to properly discern the legality of a serve from video unless you have a trained eye or know exactly what focal lengths and proper dimensions to measure the distances. In the above pictures we don't have a proper starting point. The photos do not show the point at which the ball leaves the palm of the hand. So because of this we have no reference point on when and where to measure the distance of the height of the toss. What looks like 3-4 inches here may in fact have been 6-8 inches because there's no starting point.

    19. Top | #17
      PaulR is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: UK


      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      1
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've just watched the Ding Ning/Li Xiao Xiao final on record, so coming late to the discussion. My partner and I were both totally depressed by what we saw. There were flashes were you thought this was going to turn in to a classic, and the whole thing was suddenly ruined by way over-the-top interventions from the umpire. That's how we felt about it anyway. Whilst we are not experts on the rules of table tennis, it seemed to me that there was nothing furtive or underhand about Ding Ning's serves, and they seemed to be going high enough, and at the right angles. And, as someone else has said here, Li Xiao Xiao certainly wasn't complaining. Surely, there are rules and there are rules? Surely, there has to be some leeway?
      And as for being red-carded for towelling herself down...For heaven's sake, anyone could see that this was clearly a reaction to the umpire herself?! I think Ding Ning was actually in shock.

      The only good thing that came out of it for us was the undeniable brilliance of Li Xiao Xiao. However, even the ability to enjoy that properly was marred by the way the umpire kept wading in. I don't think this umpire did herself huge favours. And meanwhile, I really hope Ding Ning is able to recover, and maybe we will get her act together for some great moments in Rio.

      Paul

    20. Top | #18
      spin88 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Singapore
      spin88's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Stiga Clipper
      Forehand Rubber BH : BTF Tenergy 64 FX
      Backhand Rubber FH : DHS HK3 Neo

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      20
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Baal View Post
      ... But the umpire evidently wanted to make herself "important", instead of being honored for simply being there.
      Absolutely agreed. In such an important match at such high standard, perhaps one warning of calling let would be good enough to deliver the message. A repeated intervention plus the double penalty points was way way over-killed, and had ruined the game completely ! No doubt LiXX was undeniably brilliant that night, but she would have able to win the game more convincingly rather than a lack luster ending riding on Ding Ning's crippled emotion.

    21. Top | #19
      dici is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Malaysia

      Equipment:
      Blade YEO penhold
      Forehand Rubber Nittaku Fastarc G-1
      Backhand Rubber Tibhar nimbus

      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Singapore
      Posts
      671
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 44 Times in 41 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Davott View Post
      Yes it is illegal, but the issue is that these serves weren't picked up on earlier in the competition. The final is not the place to start being picky about serves. Shame.
      I have heard that there were a few fault serve called during semi or quarter finals from a similar umpire. But I could not recall on who? Anyone know?

    22. Top | #20
      Dan is offline
      says The 1 set showdown vs the
      Mighty German head coach is
      out!
       
      Administrator Country: England
      Dan's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Stiga Carbonado 145
      Forehand Rubber Stiga Genesis S
      Backhand Rubber Stiga Genesis S

      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      6,643
      Reviews
      Read 64 Reviews
      Liked 3,699 Times in 1,397 Posts
      I watched this final live and was applaud by the umpire's decisions. Firstly Ding Ning was not faulted throughout the tournament and no players had complained about here serves. Secondly, giving her a red card as she used her towel to get rid of her tears was a disgrace.

      Also, 5000 spectators went to the arena to watch an epic final and just ended up booing! And lets not forget it was Ding Ning's moment for a shot in the final of the London 2012 Olympics and that happened. Such a shame. This umpire is also known for being very strict and caused problems before. She should have never been able to umpire the Olympic final in the first place!

    23. The Following User Likes Dan's Post:

      ducksick (08-06-2012)

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP