Paul Drinkhall Interview - Professional Player (World Rank 83)

says Waldner Masterclass out now! 🏓
says Waldner Masterclass out now! 🏓
Administrator
Oct 2010
TableTennisDaily exclusive interview with Table Tennis professional Paul Drinkhall!

Thanks for taking part in our TableTennisDaily interview Paul.

Enjoy the questions!

Full Name: Paul Drinkhall
Date Of Birth: 16/01/1990
Club represented: Werder Bremen
Highest World Ranking: 83

paulsupportttd.jpg

Your career

How long have you been playing table tennis for, when did you start?

I started playing table tennis when I was 7 years old, so I have been playing for 16 years now!

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

I think Liu Jiayi my coach has been the biggest influence on my table tennis career, he brought a different aspect to my game which helped me along the way to win multiple medals as a cadet and junior in europe and the world. Jiayi also gave me the Chinese style of play, more speed and trying to play and execute my forehand more. He is also great at multi ball so that helped my game with speed and things. My previous coaches were also good but he just brought them few different things which helped, also Jiayi has a different way of thinking which is more positive and that you must believe in your game.

drinkhallinterview1.jpg

Drinkhall with coach Liu Jiayi - Photo by: ETTA

You’re a very successful international star now, what do you feel was your biggest achievement to date?

For me when I won 3 titles and the European youth championship in the singles, doubles and mixed doubles and personally I never lost a match throughout the competition, One other big achievement for me was carrying the flag at the opening ceremony of the Australian youth Olympic festival for team GB!

Ok, maybe you don't like looking back to this but what was your biggest low in your career?