Expert in a Year ( Discussion / Questions / Feedback )

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2012
Hello everyone!

You may or may not have heard about what I'm trying to do this year. It's called The Expert in a Year Challenge and the basic idea is to take a complete beginner (Sam Priestley, aged 24 at the start), spend a year intensively teaching him table tennis, and see how good he is by the end of the year. We ambitiously set ourselves the goal of getting Sam into the top 250 players in England. If you want to know more the videos below should explain all...

We started on January 1st, so we are now beginning the final 4 months of the challenge, and the focusing is switching heavily to match practice and training that will help Sam perform at his best in his matches. He will start playing tournaments in November (his first is the Bristol Grand Prix on November 15th) and finish a week and a bit into January 2015 (we will enter the Cippenham Teams 2 Star tournament together on January 11th to mark the end of the challenge).

I spoke to Dan and he thought it would be a great idea to start a thread here, on TTD, where people can discuss Sam's progress, ask questions, and give us some much needed advice to help Sam play his best ever table tennis over these final months.

Sam and I would really appreciate any help, support and encouragement you can give us and we're happy to reply to any questions you may have.

Thank you so much!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2014
Hey Everyone,

I'm looking forward to getting involved in the forum. If you've watched any of the videos please let me know if you can see any obvious mistake with my technique or match play, or tips on how best I should improve! The more input I get the better. I'm trying to improve as quickly as possible but I am finding it quite tough, so any encouragement is also very much appreciated.

If you're about in london and want a knock then let me know :).

Thanks
Sam