What does blade flexing mean?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
This user has been banned.
Nov 2010
There is another forum where this topic has gone astray. There are people that know little that talk too much. I know Der Echte ( the real ) has participated on this topic.

First there is the issue as to whether the blade flexes or vibrates. The answer is yes. The blade flexes when it vibrates. We all know the blade vibrates because we can hear it. This should be obvious and simple. I am an old engineer. I know even steel vibrates, compresses or deforms. Look up Young's Modulus. Put this issue to rest.

I have a high speed video camera that can easily take videos at 2000 FPS. It costs over $16K. In theory it can record over 38K FPS but lighting limits this. I have posted the pictures here maybe 2 or 3 years ago but no one seemed to take notice. I have a video of a toxic 5 with Peacekeeper 0X on it. The Toxic 5 vibrates a lot. One can see the blade vibrate long after the ball leave the paddle. What does this mean? In this case the Toxic 5 is in a vise and a Newgy 2050 is shooting balls at it. The vibrations are caused by the balls hitting the paddle. Any vibrations that occur after the ball has left the paddle is a sign of energy that is not moving the ball. An engineer would call this wasted energy. Basically all vibrations that occur after the ball leave the paddle are a sign of wasted energy.

I also have a video of me looping a TT ball thrown by a newgy 2050. Even at 2000 FPS one can't see the blade flex but I can hear the ping from my Firewall Plus so I know it is vibrating but at a higher frequency than my Toxic 5. So what does this mean? I know but it would be best if some of you would contribute.