When to change Blade/Rubbers?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2014
Hi, I've been playing table tennis for the past 2 months frequently in a local club, and will start competing very very soon, I came back after 12 years without playing, but before I use to play only in casual tournments when younger.

Now that I've been playing a bit more seriously, I was wondering when do I know that is time to change Blade or rubbers? (and I mean to something different not because the blade is broken or the rubbers too used)

Hope You can help me, Thanks very much in advance.

Manuel.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2014
Read 12 reviews
my apologies,i misread your question.

You,as a player will start noticing a reduction in speed and spin of your rubbers over time.this is an indication that it is near time to change your rubbers.

As for your blade,that is totally up to you.you can use your current blade for however long you want,it all depends on how you like it.

says Aging is a killer
Satisfy your curiosity

Many new rubbers and blades have come onto the market over the past 10 years.
The main reason for this was the banning of speed-glue which caused manufacturers to develop rubber/blade combinations that best simulate the old speed-glue effect.
The most successful is Butterfly with their Tenergy series of rubbers which, allied to their composite blades, has become the standard for all other rubber/blade combination. This is similar to the old Mark V/Alser market domination.
Below pro level the bat that you have is more than enough. But try the Tenergy 05 on a separate blade to see what all the fuss is about. Just remember that they cost £50 each + shipping.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
Tinykin, thanks for the update :)

I guess I won't know until I try something different right? I will see if there's someone in my club that has it, instead of spending the money first :)

Thank you.