How Many Styles Can You Play?

says Check out my Podcast Talkin' Smash!
TeamJOOLA
Oct 2010
Read 12 reviews
Hey guys. As some of you may know I'm a table tennis coach and so I feel it is important to learn to play all different styles in order to better teach my students. As a result I am fairly competent in a range of styles. I'm around 2000 level USATT playing penhold (with inverted and short pips) and also chopping. I can play penhold twiddling with long pips, I can play with most different rubber types pretty well. Someone challenged me to a penhold match today and we decided to video it. This is my 'second' style behind shakehand.

So how many styles can you play? (My worst is playing with the other hand)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2013
Read 2 reviews
Love your penhold short pimple attacking style. I used to play in this style but then changed to Rev rubbers on both side trying to imitate Wang Hao(In vain lol). So I would say that I can play Penhold single side short pimple close to the table attacking style, or Wang Hao's style using rev rubber on both side. I play slightly better with short pimple but I am having great fun trying to use RPB like Wang Hao.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
I thought the style you are talking about is offensive and defensive, i didn't know that style could be type of handle too, well, i can only play shakehand style, i tried penhold once in the past and it didn't work for me good, i also tried to hold one full side of the racket in my hand so in this case i killed one side of the racket, i played with one opponent in the past who use this way or style and he was really very good using it, but at the end i came back to my best style shakehand and never look back.