First bat

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2022
Hi all
newbie here, played TT back in school days, just returned to the sport, at 57 and joined a local club.
Won a few games and lost a few, some really good players at the club and getting some excellent coaching from them which is great.
Although already improving still way below the team level.
looking to buy my first proper bat, thinking at my level about £50 for now is a fair budget.
reading some reviews, considering the Butterfly Timo Boll SG99 or Butterfly Zhang Jike Wakaba, both prices at £50
Any advice is welcome.
Cheers

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2019
Read 3 reviews
You should put together a bat yourself. It's quite easy and then you'll have something to build on. Many of these factory assembled bats are not that good, and the blades are no good at all. While improving and learning the technique again, you'll need more linear rubbers and perhaps an allround 5-ply wooden blade.

An example is a Sanwei - Accumulator S blade and two Kokutaku - 868 Blutenkirsche rubbers. The blade is allround+ somewhere and the rubbers are really cheap, but good worth for the money and easy to play with both attack and defense. My advise is to start with something like this to see where you are going. And there are a lot of options to choose from.

I’m with mocker on this one. I would advise you to get an all wood 5 ply blade rated all, all+ or maybe off-.Something like a Stiga allround, there are plenty of different of options like mocker says.Do not get a fast carbon blade, this can wait until you are comfortable with the slower blade.This I would match with a fairly slow rubber like Yasaka Mark V. When this rubber is worn out you can step up to something like Yasaka Rakza 7. This combo will probably last you a long time…

Cheers
L-zr

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2022