Simon Gauzy was right or wrong in that point?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Member
Apr 2024
11
4
17
Hi guys
Let watch again the important point in the match: Simon GAUZY vs Mohamed EL-BEIALI yesterday

Time: 40:40

From this position, how come the ball hit the table side ?
1713327084915.png


I think the reference was wrong but Simon Gauzy also was not fair play
How do you think ?
 
Last edited:
says Table tennis clown
says Table tennis clown
Well-Known Member
Apr 2020
3,508
1,950
7,670
Edge, but only the ref could really decide this because she was the only one to have the perfect view. When the ball touched and if there was even the slightest deviation upwards it is a point for the shot-maker but if the ball just got a deviation side wards , well........................
 
Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
May 2011
1,314
1,445
3,501
With a heavy side spin ball it's possible to hit the side. While it looks like edge to me, the type of sidespin he put on it could head outside the table and then curve back in, and the natural sidespin a return of Gauzy's service would also curve in that fashion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JJ Ng and NextLevel
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
Sep 2013
7,775
6,985
17,052
Read 3 reviews
Imagine if they invested in Hawk-Eye technology instead of WTT. So many years of side/edge + illegal service controversies and nothing has improved. What a joke.
its not that nothing has improved.
the video angle has hit a record high of hate. So in this case, "remaining the same" would be a huge improvement haha
 
  • Haha
Reactions: blahness
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
Sep 2013
7,775
6,985
17,052
Read 3 reviews
With a heavy side spin ball it's possible to hit the side.

this is what ITTF and your logic claims, even with that "no arc" shot by El-Beiali.
Logic failure is my conclusion.
Like to invite any one and umpires to do birdy shot demonstration.

1713336674770.png
 
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
Sep 2013
7,775
6,985
17,052
Read 3 reviews
I'm gonna practise that shot, and then I'm gonna use it in tight situations... Wait...
please do it
record it, and allow me to share on my yt. :)

theoretically speaking is possible
but even Chuang said he can't do that shot
he said given that position, and how he hit the ball and the flight of the ball, there is no ways it can curve back in.

it isn't a frisbee. you need a lot of air or flight for it, so i'm waiting for many to do what the pros can't do
this is where "keyboard talk" and "actual game play" differs.
 
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
Sep 2013
7,775
6,985
17,052
Read 3 reviews
I have a hard time to understand why, in this type of situation, they don't simply replay the point.

If the umpire is not sure and the players are confused as well.. replay the point like we do in our amateur leagues.
that is not an option (as they follow based on the ITTF handbook)
 
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
May 2011
1,314
1,445
3,501
this is what ITTF and your logic claims, even with that "no arc" shot by El-Beiali.
Logic failure is my conclusion.
Like to invite any one and umpires to do birdy shot demonstration.

View attachment 29365
No, that's stupid. This is the type of situation I'm referring to that is possible. The curve is a bit exaggerated, but I think you get the point.

TTsidespin.jpg
 
Top