The handle shot!

says TTD Team vs Pongfinity OUT NOW on our YT Channel
says TTD Team vs Pongfinity OUT NOW on our YT Channel
Well-Known Member
Administrator
Oct 2010
4,149
6,633
13,065
In our latest TTD Team episode the Dane hit a handle shot to win the match! None of us were expecting it, I wasn't even sure if this was legal!

Here it is :D

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https://www.facebook.com/MaLongFamily/videos/647962709401908/&show_text=0&width=560" width="700" height="393" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowtransparency="true" allowfullscreen="true"></iframe>
 
  • Like
Reactions: ttarc and KMTT
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Well-Known Member
Feb 2018
1,088
754
2,410
Read 2 reviews
How can you prove his intent?

The player is clearly turning his racket and aiming with the handle. A fun party trick but not really fair at a national level tournament/championship.

I'm not an umpire but my guess is that paragraph 2.10.1.8 may be applicable here.
 
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Active Member
Nov 2019
504
381
1,685
Read 1 reviews
Isn't it illegal as it's done intentionally?

I would definitely count that point and I think the rules also permit these kind of shots:
"2.5.7 A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, heldin the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist." and "2.10.1.8 if an opponent strikes the ball with a side of the racket blade whose surfacedoes not comply with the requirements of 2.4.3, 2.4.4 and 2.4.5;" (2.4.3 to 2.4.5 define rubbers and how they should cover the blade).
 
Top