Tips for My Second Blade

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2021
I have been playing table tennis for many years, but I have only recently joined a club. I like to play offensively and would consider my skill level to be beginner-intermediate.

I was thinking of building my new racket with a Yasaka Ma Lin Extra Offensive blade and Gewo Nexxus EL PRO 43 max. rubbers.

Do you think this is a good idea, or will it be too fast? Isn't it better to have a fast paddle, even if it takes some getting used to in the beginning?

Thank you very much!

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2013
Read 3 reviews
YEO (MLEO) is indeed fast for a starter blade

if you want to settle with OFF, then find a OFF- (minus) 5 ply wood blade
possibly ALL+ 5 ply wood blade would be nice too.

rubbers is okay and ALL+ will give you more control (Yasaka Sweden Extra or Gewo Allround classic to based on the 2 brands you named)

Reactions: andres
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2021
Thank you very much for your advice!

I decided to go with the Yasaka Sweden Extra.

Instead of the Gewo rubbers, I was thinking about Donic Acuda S2, Yasaka Rakza 7, or Yasaka Rakza 7 Soft. Which one do you recommend?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2013
Read 3 reviews

Instead of the Gewo rubbers, I was thinking about Donic Acuda S2, Yasaka Rakza 7, or Yasaka Rakza 7 Soft. Which one do you recommend?
why not go with Rakza 7, to keep it Yasaka
I think the 7 Soft could be a bit too soft
Rakza 7 and Sweden Extra is a good pairing for your first "proper racket" and could allow you to develop your strokes properly

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2021
OK, and what thickness of rubber would you suggest? Can I opt for max, or is it not recommended?

says Pimples Schmimples
says Pimples Schmimples
Sep 2022
OK, and what thickness of rubber would you suggest? Can I opt for max, or is it not recommended?