A bunch of questions about getting a new racket?

This user has no status.
I'm a beginner/recreational level player. I use a R.I.T.C Friendship 729-2 rubber on both side and the blade i'm not sure what it's called. It's a premade bat from China - I don't think it's any good at all. At the club i visit, many have told me that my rubber feels weird/too old/too basic and i should get an upgrade.

I'm unfamiliar with the equipment game so i was going to ask about it here.

Firstly, 1) At a recreational level like myself, is it a bad idea to get equipment that is on the middle to upper tier of play, can it actually hurt my progress?

2) In terms of blade, If i choose a decent one like from Butterfly is that a bad idea because i am still quite low level? Because i was thinking that since a blade can last a very long time and i would rarely need to change it, i might as well get a pretty good one. However, The saying goes don't learn to drive in a Ferrari, is that true for table tennis?

2) In terms of rubber, what's the difference from a decent rubber like Tenergy/Yasaka/Hurricane/other good rubbers to the one i am using? Why are there so many variations in the market?

3) i hear people say a racket being "too fast". What does that mean, is it the rubber or blade being too "fast"?

4) what website is well known and good for purchasing equipment (including table tennis glue)?

thanks~...

Last edited:
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
Two easy Aussie based places to buy are OOAK Shop tabletennisshop.com.au and Affordable TT www.affordablett.com.au

I would say go for middle of the zone for blade and rubbers to start out.

Blade: Yinhe 896 or N10 or W6
Rubbers: Dawei Inspirit Quattro Ultra Light 40 for FH and XP2008 Super Power for BH (Get both in Max sponge, ranges 2.2 to 2.3 mm)