Donic Ovtcharov/Original №1 Senso / Hurricane Long 5 for new player question.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2020
Hello everyone! New to this forum, my first post! Thank you for reading!

I want to ask your opinion about particular blade - Donic Ovtcharov/Original №1 Senso.

But first some information:
My equpment: Yasaka Ma Lin Soft Carbon + Yinhe Jupiter 2 soft both sides (soft is vendor specific version, it is not the same as 38, the specific vendor that sells it says it is great for new player to learn stuff, and it performs like euro/jap rubber of x3 it's price)
My playstyle - i started playing this summer, i learn by watching videos and trying to imitate the technique. So far i learned to do topspin from both sides, banana flick, and i push when i'm not sure what to do. My topspins may be not very consistent, for example i'm not sure i will be able to hit 10 of them back to back, but i think i undertand the principle behind the stroke right now. Got eureka moment in the end of a summer and from pure imitation i understood the brushing contact, what makes topspin work. In my opinion i can tell what i did wrong when ball goes off the table (racket angle not closed enought) or in the net (mushy contact most likely, not enought brushing action).

I cannot do drives or flat hits, ball goes beyond the table. I do not undrerstand yet how to do them.

So back to the question, i got EJ itching right now, and i put my eyes on Ma Long 5, long story short everyone says it is good for topspin, and that what i like to do, why play TT if you don't want to do sick topspins. And people say because it is 2 layers before carbon (like my current Ma Lin SC) it is not speed monster, so this is good for short game. Problem with it - it is kinda expensive.

Reading forums i saw a person you all know, "G_ZHANG" said:
Donic No1 Ovtcharov is HL5, Donic No1 Ovtcharov senso is a better HL5 (some where between normal HL5 and W968)
Thread is "Cheaper version of w968"