Looking for a custom setup advice

I am a beginner player playing with a Palio Master 3.0 premade racket. It has an all-wood 5-ply blade with cj8000 rubbers on both sides.

I can play counter on forehand and backhand decently well and am learning to topspin on both sides. I am pretty fit and like to move quickly and push myself physically.

I am looking to move to a custom setup that will help me improve my technique and that I can use for a long time. I understand that developing a good game isn't just a decent setup but quality practice with a good coach and playing matches.

I am considering going for a Donic Appelgreen Allplay blade with DHS Hurricane 3 on the forehand and Yasaka Mark V on the backhand. Is this a good setup for someone like me?

I have shortlisted the following blades:
1. Donic Appelgreen Allplay
2. Yasaka Sweden Extra
3. Stiga Allround Classic

Would you recommend the Yasaka or the Stiga blade instead?

Reactions: Choosikick
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2022
No,
the proposed setup sounds like a recommendation of an old guy that tells you tales from yesteryear.

The blades are fine, but there is no point for a beginner to use a hurricane rubber which will make learning topspin harder and force you to learn a technique that is different than the one needed for regular tensors.

The yasaka mark v is also something from the past. Very few successful people play it.

I recommend to start with low catapult tensors so you get a feel for it and develop a fine hand that is needed for the short touch game.
One example of such rubber would be the xiom vega intro.

says Looking for a bat that makes me faster
Jan 2023
No,
the proposed setup sounds like a recommendation of an old guy that tells you tales from yesteryear.