Do you have an opponent that gives you problems? Let's develop a simple strategy!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
Describe the opponent's main playing pattern and what specifically is giving you trouble, and let's see if we can come up with 2 or 3 simple strategies to take away his weapon.

I often play a 2000 level player, he is a real two winged looper and very aggressive. His loop is very spinny, and he just tries to loop the serve return and the 3rd ball very aggressively. These are not easy to block, and if he hits those shots, I have no chance against him. Also, he has a large variety of very tricky and spinny serves. It's very common for me to lose 4 points to his serve in a single game. Last time I played him I lost 3-4 games, with deuce in the 7th game. I went home and wrote down a few notes to remember how to play him. After that I started playing him again and was winning 2-1, and I felt slightly more in control, but then we ran out of time and had to go home. Anyways, these are the simple notes I used:

- Use the short low serve to prevent him from looping. Occasionally mix in fast long serve
- Anticipate his serve spin, dont just react to it
- Attack his serve with 10% more aggression when possible to take away his 3rd ball
- Play 5% faster and open up faster to take away his opening loop
- Inevitably he is still going to loop and its going to be spinny, so mentally prepare to block low

What other little instructions might you add to my notes?

Do you have a particular player you struggle to beat?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023
Describe the opponent's main playing pattern and what specifically is giving you trouble, and let's see if we can come up with 2 or 3 simple strategies to take away his weapon.